Poets logo

My Ocean

Disappointment

By Yaritza SantiagoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My Ocean
Photo by Jonathan Bean on Unsplash

I am a grandmother

I have great pride in my youngest children

Especially her first girl

As the first girl, she needs to be tough

She needs to be the backbone of the family

The supporter

Provider

Maintainer

I want her to be the perfect role model for her little sister

Someone her younger sister can be proud of

So I taught her everything I know

How to cook

Clean

Care for a young infant

I want her to be the best she could be

Without having to rely on anybody but herself

A strong independent women

So I may nag a lot

Discipline you more

And spoil you less

But I love you and expect the best from you

So when I asked you to give the benefit of the doubt to your sister

But instead, you stoop down to her level

It hurt me more than you think

It was like my own clam ocean with relaxing breezes

With birds chirping, ocean animals dancing

My precious ocean that I worked hard to build

All of a sudden crushes

Like a huge tsunami swept over and took everything with it

My once precious ocean filled with so much joy, respect, and honor

Was all destroyed in that one incident

I know you’ll reflect once you're calm

And apologize for your actions

But there is no need to feel sorry

As your grandma I never once blamed you

Just as fast as that tsunami hit, the sun soon fought it’s way through

I will never give up on you too

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.