Poets logo

Fish Can't Climb Trees

My Angel

By Yaritza SantiagoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Fish Can't Climb Trees
Photo by Joshua Clay on Unsplash

I have been asked many questions

Questions that been asked throughout my life

Not about me but someone precious to me

My baby brother

Same old questions that just repeat

Not even a broken record can compete

“Why is he so different?”

“What’s wrong with him?”

“Do you wish he was normal?”

“It must be tough for you?”

With the same old answers

“He’s not different he’s my baby brother.”

“He has cerebral palsy and autism, do you have a problem.”

“To me, he is ‘normal’ my cute adorable baby brother.”

“Why would someone I treasure so much all of a sudden be tough for me?”

I don’t understand why people view him as some disease

That leads to nothing but pity

Well let me just tell you

I understand you mean no harm

Your word of choice is just simple idiocy

Not everyone can master the language of truth

But let me tell you

I’m his older sister

I’ll do anything for that angel

He may not seem special to you

But that boy is our joy

His smile lights up my world

So bright like the sun

Even through hard times, that smile always shines

So when the smile dims and rain starts to fall

I’ll be there standing tall

Till those tears dry up from the sun

I’ll be there holding him safely in my arms

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.