Poets logo

My love

Darkness from light, light from darkness.

By Tony herlinPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
My love
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

My dear Emma, this morning on the meadow, I swear I saw, lit by the sun, your eyes in the beauty of a flower that miraculously was still standing...

My dear James, I would have liked that flower to be on your heart so that part of me could be with you, but by the time you read these words, I think that flower will no longer exist...

... After a little sleep, I saw a squirrel in a tree, eating with his beloved. I imagined it was us...

... I too, saw a squirrel carrying nuts from hiding place to hiding place, trying so hard to survive. I don't know if he'll succeed...

... I'm taking your eyes with me, as blue as a summer sky, as deep as the universe and as bright as thousands of stars. I'll give them back to you one day, when we're reunited...

... You can keep them, I offer them to you with all my love. I'll keep your heart as the most precious thing in this empty world without you...

My love, my whole body is so cold, but my heart is burning with our love. I'm going to leave, don't blame me. My eyes are going to close now, I'm sending you a thousand kisses, at least try to catch one. I love you.

21st June 1944

(This poem is fiction and any resemblance to a true story or person is purely coincidental. If you think I have offended, shocked or disrespected anyone, that was not my intention. It's all about love).

inspirational

About the Creator

Tony herlin

A dreamer who neither speaks nor writes English, a difficult but highly instructive exercise. (Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused).

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tony herlinWritten by Tony herlin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.