Poets logo

My Greatest Fear, I Think

A Poem of Contradiction

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
32
Photo by Roko Labrovic on Unsplash

Sometimes I believe that my greatest fear is opening up,

Of letting people know what’s really on my mind and in my heart.

For if I do open that door, can’t they use my most prized possessions against me?

Is my vulnerability not a weapon I may be passing to my enemies?

Even if unwillingly and unknowingly.

How can I know who to trust?

If I choose to dig past the pebbles that I’ve always been willing to share,

to burrow deep into the bedrock of my being,

and leave my truth naked for all to see,

will I survive the possible repercussions that further damage my soul?

*

Sometimes I tell myself that my greatest fear is shutting down,

of not letting anyone inside the world that revolves on a crooked axis

inside my thoughts and dreams.

Of isolating myself from even those who care for me most.

My unwillingness to let people know what’s really in my soul,

Is this the mountain I want to live on?

Is this the hill I want to die on?

For if it is so, that I shall die on this hill of vulnerability,

never letting anyone else stand on that mountain with me,

How would they even know where to look?

*******

This is piece is my response to Real Poetic's Greatest Fear challenge, in which she invites us to "explore the theme of your "Greatest Fear" and weave your emotions, thoughts, and imagery into a poem that captures how and why you are fearful of this."

performance poetryinspirational
32

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    I really feel this one.

  • Wonderful and so relatable! Powerful words!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Wow. Great open-hearted encounter with vulnerability and doubt. Really like this one, can deeply relate. "Sometimes I tell myself that my greatest fear is shutting down, of not letting anyone inside the world that revolves on a crooked axis inside my thoughts and dreams." Great work!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Phenomenal work Cathy!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    There are so many lines to draw out and wax on about why I love them. I'll focus on these, though: "For if I do open that door, can’t they use my most prized possessions against me? Is my vulnerability not a weapon I may be passing to my enemies? Even if unwillingly and unknowingly." This metaphor of a house holding your vulnerabilities is doing so much work here. You don't even state that it's a house, but with "open that door" and "my most prized possessions" it becomes clear. And to then suggest that these possessions can become weapons to the guest you let in...wow. That adds so much to this already vivid picture of a poem. Very well done, Cathy. You command your fears brilliantly in these verses.

  • I sometimes have this fear too. But does that stop me? No. I overshare like an overflowing bucket of water and then I regret handing them the weapon 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️ Loved your poem!

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    This is an awesome, relatable poem. I loved these lines, 'Is this the mountain I want to live on? Is this the hill I want to die on?' and the super impactful ending as well! Congratulations

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Wow! That was pretty deep. Well done and congrats!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats, Cathy! 🥉🥂💕

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Great work...this is incredibly relatable, buddy! Loved this. Beautiful writing as ever, Cathy!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Incredibly relatable. I especially love this line. “Is my vulnerability not a weapon I may be passing to my enemies?”

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    I feel and mirror your thoughts exactly. Very well said,

  • Kat Thorne10 months ago

    So relatable, excellent poem!

  • Abigail Penhallegon10 months ago

    This is really nicely written, you laid out the contradiction as two things that actually necessarily goes together.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Compelling, relatable, vulnerable, and wonderfully penned. Truly amazing job, my friend!! 🥹❤️❤️

  • Caroline Craven10 months ago

    I love this one Cathy. Fantastic writing and completely relatable. Great stuff.

  • To open up or to shut down, that is the question. Ah, to lay our hearts bare with all the risk it entails. If we are welcomed & received, it is wonderful. If not....

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    ☺️👏 I really liked the themes here Cathy. I’ve felt like that many a time which often causes more trouble for oneself so I find this relatable. Yet I also feel that writing helps me to clear some of that away to be vulnerable ..to make way for the new. Great job at the mini challenge and certainly a fear for many! 😁

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    The experience of being human is not always easy. But it's in the opening up that we can learn the beauty of self-love. Very nice poem!

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Ah vulnerability. I feel you. <3 Well done!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Awesome!!! Beautifully and wonderfully written!!! Loved it!!!

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    Oh boy this is totally relatable Cathy. Brilliant piece of writing my friend.

  • Well put-😉❤️💯👍📝

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Vulnerabilities haunt me too. This is so well done.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    That’s a very real and legit fear, but opening up seems to be your superpower when it comes to writing. Great poem for the mini challenge. 👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.