Poets logo

To the Floor That Grounds Me

An Irregular Ode

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
35
Photo by William Zhao on Unsplash

You’re the first thing I touch when I drag my unwilling self out of bed in the morning.

You hold me up when I just want to throw myself back down.

You’re the last thing I touch when I am as spent as the day that’s passed,

before I, finally, get to rest my aching feet and my aching soul.

You’re the first to welcome me in,

and the last to bid me adieu.

In good days and bad, through sunshine and storms,

whether I’m burning with passion or frozen with fear;

you’re always there to greet me

when sanctuary welcomes me home.

*

I can stand on you and you’ll never complain.

You’ll just hold me up and keep me balanced,

when my entire world seems askew.

I can sit on you to rest my weary bones, and my weary mind.

You’ll cry not a whimper.

Even though you’re already struggling to support the walls that surround you,

You’ll happily support me too.

You’ll take on my struggles, marry them with your own,

and spread them out across your cool tiles;

until we find the perfect equilibrium.

*

And on those days when everything falls apart, I can lay myself down on you

and trust that you’ll catch me when I can stand no more.

You won’t judge me.

Even when your shining wood is stained with my tears, you won’t judge.

You won’t condescend.

You’ll never offer unwelcome advice or complain about the added burden I’ve placed on you.

You’ll just lie there with me,

quietly holding me in place so I don’t fall into the abyss.

Then you’ll remind me, from the cool comfort of your tiles,

that from down here, there’s nowhere to go but up.

performance poetryinspirational
35

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    This was an amazing ode ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    gorgeous, heartfelt & inspiring! Go Gurl! 💪🏾

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Nowhere to go but up, I love it 😁

  • So impressed by your ability to take an everyday object and turn it into something like this! Outstanding 😎

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    Love this. I'll will look at the floor much differently❤️ Beautiful Cathy ♥️

  • Whoaaaaa, those last 5 lines were superb! It was sooooo deep and motivational! Excellent ode!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    A terrific ode Cathy. Very charming and uplifting!! 😊

  • Vadim Kagan10 months ago

    well done!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is just perfect. Great job.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Cathy, this was an inspiring and thought provoking poem/ ode! I love the abstract take you have on this challenge and how insightfully written this was! This was so clever and creative, I really enjoyed it!

  • Was sure I had read this, but I hadn't. A wonderful ode and a Top Story or Challenge place or moth, I am sure

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Amazing ode, my friend!! Powerful, beautifully done, and so clever 🤗

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Well done. Great ode. That last line ignited all the melancholy .. I can feel my spirit looking up with you. ❤

  • Holly Pheni10 months ago

    Stunning, compelling, and so very honest. I love everything about this.

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    I am unsurprising at how good this is! LOL! GREAT ode!!

  • I have to say, you floored me with this one, Cathy. But yours must be pretty sturdy. Mine groans when I walk across it.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    Awesome take on the challenge Cathy. Love it 😊

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love the way your mind works. I don’t think anyone else would do an ode to the floors of their home, but I actually do appreciate mine. That last line is perfect. 💫

  • 😳🥹you have created a touching image. Fabulous job friend ❤️❤️

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Wowser...this is incredible, buddy! Well done. Definitely counts and definitely an excellent entry!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    My friend, you nailed it!!! Sent a virtual (hug)!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Alexandria Stanwyck10 months ago

    👏🏾 Beautiful!!!! Your piece made my floors go from barely thought of to a friend. Seriously, I will never take my floors for granted again.

  • A great Entry piece ❤️💯💥📝😉

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    This is absolutely fantastic! Well done my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.