Poets logo

My favorite color is you

A poem based on Don’t Hug Me, I’m Scared the series. In “David’s” perspective. It’s about death and life. And comfort.

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My favorite color is you
Photo by Yang Shuo on Unsplash

I get a feeling I’ve done this before

I’ve seen your scared face

I’ve tried to get through your red door

When all my life rhymes and doesn’t always

Fit

It forces all of us to feel like their rhythms and angry classifications of logic

Is really good, and so clever

Society reaches us to our fingertips, in a fuzzy draining space

It tells us exactly how to move

How to dream, how to make up funny sounds

Like achoo! is funny (don’t you hear all of us laughing, so fun)

And seeing you is really nice, even in the darkness, I can still make out your redness, so sweet

And though we learned about electricity

No one told me that being so close to

you feels like

A brand new type of current

Not defined and very important I think

Like your color

You’re my favorite one

You’re covered head to toe with

That color that sounds like home,

A comfort zone I intend to swim in, if your color could be in a pool

Red, I know it is

That’s you

Yes, but if your color comes alive

Does it want to

Create something new?

I get a very strange feeling I’ve done this before

I saw your sad face

I went through your red

Door

I had died, but in a sense, we all did, yeah

I had died,

I heard you say.

Maybe I’m crazy, you’re crazy

But when I came back up, unexpectedly from the salted earth,

And saw your red rosy smile

And our other friend’s yellow face, his eyes red from sobbing, dirt on his cheek

Your expression, too hard to read,

I knew I could dunk myself, immersed into your deep heart hue,

And live there, (oh how I longed to live here forever…)

My

Comfort in a sea of troubling words that rhymed when they shouldn’t have.

artheartbreaklove poemssad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.