Poets logo

My Father's Footprint

Making the Path my Own

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read

I knew not to step on a crack when walking.

I'd take leaps over them, just in case.

An unwary placement could break-a-back.

Best to seek a well-trodden path and avert disaster.

~

On the all-too-seldom times we would walk together as a family

I would carefully step in the imprint left by my father.

That step was already-tested. It was safe. It was known.

My feet fit within the familiar outline.

~

I have my mother's eyes and my father's smile.

I burn in the sun like an Irish ancestor surely did.

I blame my temper on my Italian-Scots' roots.

My footsteps slip into my father's path without a conscious will.

~

Not all pathways explored by my father deserve further exploration.

Not all footsteps deserve to echo across time.

Mimicking his every decision and response would be disastrous.

But- the comfort-easiness of the familiar following has its own seductive pull.

~

My steps are my own.

My gait, once so comfortable following his lead,

Once content to unquestioningly conform to his example, my walk

Is my one-time-chance to follow my this-life path of personal creation.

~

My father made his own journey-choice

His steps left a lasting mark on the world- and on me.

My journey's-choices are mine to make (to my fresh surprise)

Daily decisions: to follow the familiar? or step outside the lines and into the sunlight?

~

My walk is my own, my steps-choices blaze my own path.

Just that, though, is missing the lesson I must learn, The practice that I bring- shiny new- on my journey.

Let it be on me to extend a hand backwards to help those that may see my path,

And hold them -loosely- in the light as they make their path their own.

~~~~~

Sometimes he surprised me, the man wasn't predictable. This was such an occasion:

And his path was not one that I should truly follow:

And finding my own way has been challenging, with me missing the way over and over:

I appreciate you reading my non-AI-generated thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with all writers on Vocal:

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. What ways have you deliberate broken out of the path set for you by your parents' example?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

inspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Down to earth, beautifully flowing.

  • Jade Haumannabout a year ago

    I remember this one quote from Barack Obama's "Dreams From My Father" where he says, "You must respect your elders. They clear the way for you so that your path is easier. But if you see them falling into a pit then you must learn to diverge from that path and make your own." That resonated with me a lot coming from a community carrying a lot of generational trauma. Your writing reminded me of that quote, and reminded me that l'm breaking the conformed path my family has long followed of suppressed emotions. I appreciated reading this and being reminded, great work!

  • Wizened, true, aspirational & inspirational.

  • Gigi Gibsonabout a year ago

    A very enjoyable read Judey.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Fathers..such enigmas...unpredictable....yet there are many who are just great or good fathers...some we still question....yet in the end, the world is made up of oh so many different personalities who were shaped by circumstances, or are just who they are by chance or something else. Forgive my ramblings, this topic is not an easy one.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Profound yet vulnerable truths Judey! Beautiful alliteration. I can attest that you reach back, to the side, to everywhere within your reach with a heart of gold. Non-nonsense at time, but such it is with truth. Excellent 😎

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    J ~ Such a Lovely Lasting Footprint ~ J

Judey Kalchik Written by Judey Kalchik

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.