Poets logo

Summer Cold

Thinks that are thought

By Judey Kalchik Published 11 months ago 2 min read
18
https://pixabay.com/users/paulchen

My summer sheets are grey and not tight.

I would rather sleep on a hippo than rhino.

How long a ago did I read Aesop fables?

Wasn't it crumbs that made the rhino itchy?

I'm glad there are no crumbs in my sheets but I wish I had pineapple sherbet.

I miss my winter flannel sheets.

If had them now would be cozy but ugh too warm

If I could put head on shelf and close door until better.

Dozed off writing this and will post it even though ~ is this email or post?

When did pills?

Is water in glass mean pills now or already?

Need to put my out of office on email and phone.

Feed fever and cold starve? Does this matter?

I think shower would make better but afraid dizzie will happen.

Wish could bed shower.

Maybe next after sleep happens

~~~~~

A poem about not sleeping:

A poem from after the sleep:

True advice from me, a once-manager of mattress sales, so that you will have your best-night's sleep:

I appreciate you reading my non-AI-generated thoughts! While you’re here, please choose one or more of the ways below to interact with me and the other writers on Vocal.

FIVE ways to interact with writers on Vocal:

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. Do you crave sleep when you are sick? Can you remember your dreams?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

4. Feel free to share a link to anything I write on your social media.

5. A one-time tip or even a monthly pledge to support my writing is always appreciated if you are so moved!

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
18

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Lovely poem!

  • Oh, you captured that so well, Judey. I almost feel like I must be sick after just reading it.

  • Holly Pheni11 months ago

    Haha, that was some cold! Cute piece, way to make lemonade out of tussin!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    well done!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Head and nose problems leaving you in a foggy imaginary world!!! Judey, you nailed it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Ah-choo. Bless you. A reality poem. Oh the misery. 🥰

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This read like a half-sleep tired but not tired sort of haze and I love it

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Ugh! I feel the draining misery! 💕

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    This was a great read as I battle against the ragweed pollen's attempts on my life.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Ah yes, the yucky brain fog the accompanies the cold. I hear ya. Well done.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    This is a trip, lol! I felt like I was witnessing a kind of mental descent, whether from insomnia or fever (both ?) and it was very enjoyable. I really liked your word choices and how you were able to use a kind of free association to evoke a controlled chaotic mental state. Very clever! 😎

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    Well done!! I have also written about an illness like this, and can confirm it's super healing!❣️

  • Ahhhh, yes! That is the best way to beat a cold

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.