Poets logo

My City is Burning

A poem about renewal

By BaltizarePublished about a year ago 2 min read
1

As you watch from afar, you can see the smoke, emerging from flames raging on the city streets, it rises to the sky bellowing up thickly, tangibly, menacingly, blocking the light of the sun, casting down a harrowing shadow striking a quiver into the heart of those who witness it.

As you approach the burning chaos, the destruction is illuminated by the light of the flames, engulfing my city's treasured and historic structures. You move forward and soon the heat from the embers can be felt, causing pain, stinging, hot and sharp upon your white delicate skin. You smell the smoke, it burns your throat, but forward you move.

The closer you get the more intense the smoke becomes, it begins to overwhelm. Your lungs fill with the mist of solid particles and you begin to choke. Your body is overwhelmed by this dark black vapor and your system malfunctions, you can’t breathe. You gasp but no oxygen comes, you begin to lose consciousness, you glimpse with your tear filled eyes a smoldering remnant of what once was greatness and you see there is now only black charred coal, and you understand that it was all an illusion.

Now you are near the heart of the inferno, your on your knees, the smoke, restricting your access to the source of life like a knee pressed down on your throat, you take your final breath, a last desperate attempt at preserving your life, and before your lungs shut down, you are devoured by the flames. Into and a part of the destruction you become. Now you are one with this massive force, and now apart of it you understand that your not a force for terror, or fear, you don’t desire destruction, you are fueled by pain, fed by oppression, and as one massive force you spread, ignoring the desperate attempts to again suffocate you by those you once saw as heroes but who have now become your enemy, but they are small and human and no match for your furry. You are fueled by historic and infinite rage at the attempt to keep you under control, but you can no longer be harnessed, you can no longer be extinguished, your flames have taken hold and will engulf all in your path. You are an unstoppable mighty force of nature. You know now that you should burn, you should turn to ash all that has stopped your progress, you cannot be stopped any longer. So you spread. You march forward not as destruction but as a necessary clearing of dry and old structures. You charge forward and behind you is rebirth, left in your path the ground is clear, it is a new horizon, fresh, vacant, purified, and ready for new development.

My city was burning and I was engulfed in its flames, and now I can breathe, and the air is clear and clean and free, and all is leveled to the ground. That which I thought was greatness has been cleared , everything on this pure land can now stand on the same ground. I have done this for all that will come after, I have done this not to wreak havoc but to bring hope to a place where it had been lost.

Onward my flames will reach, and forward my inferno will push. I cannot be stopped, I can not be smothered, let me burn, let me burn. You cannot not stop me so let me burn.

surreal poetrysocial commentary
1

About the Creator

Baltizare

Would you read my work if I told you I was a fictional character, here to share my own stories, which usually have a subtle Sci-Fi element? Would you read fiction, by a piece of fiction? Would you still read if I was from NJ?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    This is intense! So powerfully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.