Poets logo

My Body Is My Temple

My beauty is my soul

By Ingrid HoyosPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
My Body Is My Temple
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

My body is my temple

The light of my soul

When darkness surrounds me

I know I’m not alone

My walls have been ravaged

Imperfect as I am

When stormy nights surround me

I try to understand

The joy is in my laughter

Resilience in my cries

I’ll never be perfection

But someday I’ll be wise

Enough to see my battles

Are the makings of an inner war

And when I hit rock bottom

I know my love is so much more

More than meets the eye

Because the eyes can be deceptive

Never meeting standards

Because standards are subjective

The grace is in my essence

The brilliance in my mind

I’ll never reach perfection

But in kindness I will thrive

Because my body is my temple

My beauty is my soul

My heart is a gem

My love is so much more

inspirationallove poems
2

About the Creator

Ingrid Hoyos

Former journalist. Freelance writer. Perpetually curious. Painfully creative. Poetry is my outlet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lace Cole2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing. Like it a lot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.