Poets logo

My Biggest Enemy

Let Me Be

By Kristen ReneePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read

I glanced in the mirror,

Only who did I see?

None other than me,

After a blink to focus,

I plainly see it is not me,

All I see is my biggest enemy

My inner me is my biggest enemy!

Why can't it just let me be?!

Screaming self-doubt,

Deafening me with fear,

Perfection is demanded,

Even though it's never near,

My harshest judge and cruelest jury,

Is my biggest enemy

My inner me is my biggest enemy!

Why can't it just let me be?!

I wanna look and see me,

But it's a wish that'll never be,

My inner me is my biggest enemy!

I fear it will never let me be!

social commentarysad poetry

About the Creator

Kristen Renee

Kristen Renee

Writer of poems, short stories, and soon a novel.

Six "Editor's Choice Awards" (1997-2011)

Published in the Library of Congress

Bachelor's Degree in English

Master's Degree in Business Administration

Collector of Books

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Anthony Escalante2 years ago

    I love it keep up the good work

Kristen ReneeWritten by Kristen Renee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.