Poets logo

On Roads Not Taken

A Long Way Ahead Of Me

By AevilPublished 4 days ago 2 min read
On Roads Not Taken
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

On roads not taken,

I had undone many wishes,

Overseen glimpses of a greater maybe,

Well maybes are considered signs of negativity ;

I had undone the promises,

With the premise and conditions mentioned;

I left unspoken words,

Cramped inside my childlike persistence ,

Throbbing my broken heart ,

Scratching the stitches , undone again ;

Ripped of bandages to feel again ,

Untamed Pain or hibernating numbness or dandelion happiness,

Stripped my pride and kept it aside,

Because it was the road i presumed that shouldn't be taken;

Grandeur of silence and sighs of endurance,

A magnificent test to patience,

The multiple choice to tragedies ,

The little fate I had with miracles and perhaps ,

And that too were undone because probably

it wasn't the road that should've been taken ;

In the law of jungle ,

The easiest prey is the one who prays ,

Completely dependent on fate,

I might have betrayed the ultimate rule of hardwork and race ;

Begrudged by pride and timid experiences ,

Of a mellow 20 years of life that pushed me closer to death ,

Disappointed by the rockiness , missing the concrete stage,

The softness of grasses and not the wounds of pitfalls,

I had a road not taken;

Forsaken and forgiven too many ,

Lost in delusions of peace and prosperity ,

Forgetting completely that peace was a liability ,

Brought to the table by everyone who grabs a seat ;

Besieged by doubts and caressed in comfort swings,

I was high on confidence but bashfully tender and young within,

Drunk on kindness , I misinterpreted it as reciprocity,

Weighing feelings on a chart of give and take,

I had a road probably that I must not take,

Before nights , in dim twilights , in sunlit mornings ,

Awaken dreams and tired nights , lazy afternoons ,

Whenever there was a little time ,

Wondering whether I made the right choice ,

On a scale in hearts ,

The road not taken is the most beautiful regret ,

With the high and mighty hopes ,

I had some roads that were untaken .

- Aevil

Free Verse

About the Creator

Aevil

The word of the mouth is the sharpest yet the gentlest.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • T. Licht4 days ago

    Well written!

  • It is absolutely important to make the right decision at the right time. Wonderful poem.

AevilWritten by Aevil

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.