Poets logo

My Beautiful Boy

An identity change

By S.A. Paris Published 2 years ago 1 min read

Ring of fire; pushing still

Pain and gasping, lights, a scream

Pushing, pushing, pushing till

A breath, a cry, a gasp, a life

Strength of God, awake, alive

Destiny born by a doctor’s knife

Hearts are melting, photos taken

Spotlight is on, center of attention

To coos and gurgles I awaken

Hospital sounds, smells, taste

Phone calls, messages, comments, likes,

My son the celebrity, Mama’s copy, and paste

At home we arrive, the lights are dim

Hundreds of likes now no more than ten

Feeding, feeding, feeding him

Still, he cries; alone I sit

Crying, crying, him or me?

I hold him tight; I will not quit

Lights are off; parade has ended

Love unfettered, beyond definition

Identity crisis, self-unfriended

Pressure mounting, who am I now?

Panic, panic, panic-be still.

Am I still there or is this my final bow?

Staring, staring at this tiny face

Loving, loving, longing, alive

All doubts are gone without a trace

I am here; I am me; I fear, and I joy

World traveler to mom; it’s a trade I must make

My identity is wrapped in this beautiful boy

love poems

About the Creator

S.A. Paris

I am just a girl- with a husband, a stepson, a new baby, and a dog- who loves to write, who is pursuing a law degree in international relations and human rights, and who is passionate about social justice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    S.A. Paris Written by S.A. Paris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.