Poets logo

Hands In A Jar

A short horror poem

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Hands In A Jar
Photo by Yaopey Yong on Unsplash

I've cut them off, took a machete to their wrists,

And sent their bodies down to hell.

I had no need of the beating hearts, the blood,

The paltry core of the bodies and souls and weak minds.

Let them dissolve in magma, let them succumb

And never be permitted to die!

.

I have hungered for their fingerprints for eons.

I salivate over the stories bent into their palm,

Carved into the shape of their bones.

Give me the gnarled hands of stone!

Let me feast on the imprint of all they've touched

And let me suckle on the sweetness of their pain!

.

I want to snap their bones between my fingers,

Grind them to a fine grey dust and snort it.

I want to ride the high buried right there,

In the palm of their dead hands.

But sometimes, there are lungs full of withered,

Unbreathed words I must taste.

.

Like heat likes to do, I suck the breath from their lungs

Through their fingertips like a straw,

Draw it from the veins with vampiric lust.

Demons flee my presence and black dogs run at night,

I am a starving angel with a machete,

Hunting, hunting, hunting for their unsaid words.

performance poetrysurreal poetryslam poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    Though it is dark a sharp light ray was there!

  • Paul Stewart2 days ago

    ayayayay carumba. This is bloody marvellous (take that in both forms lol) Well done on this dark piece that just crescendoed beauifully in the end.

  • Whoa this is a dark masterpiece, great job!

  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    Horrific poem indeed! Lots of great grursome imagery! “I have hungered for their fingerprints for eons. I salivate over the stories bent into their palm,” was such a striking set and built for the final line so well!

  • ROCK 2 days ago

    Lucifer is one passionate, dark soul. Exceptional piece! 👏👏👏👏

  • Whoaaaa, this was so dark, gruesome and intense! I especially loved these lines: "But sometimes, there are lungs full of withered, Unbreathed words I must taste."

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.