Poets logo

My Addiction

my kryptonite

By Gail S.Published 4 years ago 2 min read
2
My Addiction
Photo by Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

My drug of choice, the ying to my yang, the sweet to my sour, the happy when I am sad, the comfort when I am scared.

The funny when I want to cry, my safety blanket, your arms for my fragile body, my hope in the darkness, my other half, the best part of me.

Your dreams that mend my nightmares, my confidence when I have none, the other half of a sweet kiss, the other hand that holds mine tight.

Your belief in me when I have doubts, the comedy to my horrors, the words to a beautiful song, the best for me and the worst, my secret keeper.

My confidant, my best friend and my worst enemy, your warmth for my cold, the gentle waves for my crashing tsunami, the faith when I have none.

The Superman to my Lois Lane, the good for my evil, the angel for my devil, the chocolate on my cake, the shot of fireball that warms my insides.

The heat for my ice, the fingernails that scratch my itch, the fixer of damaged pieces, the patience of a saint, the calm to my storm.

The sense when I make none, the peace to my hate, the softness when things are hard, the sensible to my crazy, the laughter for my tears.

The strong for my weak, the food for my soul, the bright spot on a dark day, the happiness in my heart, the song I sing word for word.

The understanding when I am confusing, your easy nature when I am complicated, your silence to my mouthiness, your listening to my explaining.

Your tears when I cry, your smile when I frown, the peanut butter to my crackers, the lion for this lioness, my bandage for the pain.

My kryptonite, my weakness, something I just can't quit, can't get out of my system, can't go a day without, my drug of choice, my addiction.

The one that takes my breath away then makes me breathe again, my savior, the one who has my heart, the key to my lock, the pill for the pain.

The soft pillow for my weary head, the rainbow after my storm, the gentle rain during my thunder storm, the slow ride to my road rage.

Your voice of reason when I am unreasonable, the smart to my sometimes stupid, your silliness to my seriousness, the light to my dark.

All this and so much more, thank you for being you and for being the addiction in my life.

Much love, G.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.