Poets logo

Mud Pie Memory

Things come full circle

By Meredith HarmonPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snacktime Sonata Challenge
7
Sycamore and river birch reaching for each other.

Where are my mud pies?

I had them here a second ago.

Crunched-up oak leaves as the meat,

Slivers of yellowing birch as the cheese.

My tea parties were fabulous

With my cups of curling maple leaf,

A fine and classic porcelain.

Shavings of sycamore bark make my guests,

Marking their features with bits of charcoal

Dad missed from the outdoor fireplace.

So many memories at the picnic table,

Beer pancakes on the griddle in the summer,

With watermelon and celery with raisins.

What? It tastes just like peanut butter...

Well, I thought it did.

Time has a habit of smoothing some memories.

So I don't talk about Dad swearing about the raw batter

Or the drunk great-uncle crashing the party.

But the keg of root beer for the kids?

And the watermelon spitting contests?

Twilight and the trickling of the river,

That dratted katydid freaking the littles,

Fireflies and bats chasing them in aerial com...bat.

(Sorry, can't resist the pun.)

Homemade macaroni salad,

And seven-layer salad,

Sorry, Mom, it was gross,

I only ate a bite because I knew you'd be hurt if I didn't.

The cherry cheesecake from the box mix,

The topping was the best part.

Yes, neighbor, I did see you sneak the whole extra pie home!

The picnic table rotted away decades ago,

The leaves raked away by Dad's aging hands,

But I still walk the river with my husband,

Looking for snakes and frogs

Like the tomboy I was. Am.

There are eagles now, and herons,

And a granddaughter to spoil.

Come summer,

My mom and dad will set up her wading pool,

And I will teach her how to make mud pies.

ProseFamily
7

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    Really well done! Loved the pun and all the food anchored memories you weaved together!

  • Joe O’Connor10 days ago

    Loved reading this Meredith- it conjured memories from childhood play, and you have a wonderful mix of imagery and nostalgia in here. I particularly liked “With my cups of curling maple leaf”🤗

  • Babs Iverson23 days ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on runner up!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Christy Munson23 days ago

    I made mud pies with my Susie Bake Oven and my neighbors crabapples, which we kids called crapapples not even knowing we were getting it wrong. But really, were we? LOL Congratulations on your placement in the Snacktime Sonata challenge! Richly deserved.

  • As well you should. She will enjoy & appreciate it almost as much as you will, my friend. Ah those halcyon days....

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.