Poets logo

Uh-Oh!

A pastiche, with profuse apologies to Gayla Peevey

By Meredith HarmonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
5
WANT.

I want good old SpaghettiOs for snack time

Only my P'sketti-O's will do

If I want a taste of summer days as a child

Spoon out that tomato sauce so sweet and cheesy-mild

*****

SpaghettiOs unlock those childhood memories

The taste, the smell, and I'm a kid again

I'm perched in my chair, Dad gets me some, I'm good

Or my grandma feeds me some to break up my bad mood

*****

I'd always grab a can or two when we were at the store

Imagine my surprise, clutching at my prize,

Dad needs to pay before I reach the door!

*****

I want SpaghettiOs so badly right now

Cold and in the can, it takes me back

They don't taste the same, they changed ingredients

Or my taste buds died and are less dense

And sodium will cause a heart attack!

*****

Auntie'd yell and say that I'd get worms

Then Mommy'd yell at Auntie and she had to get real firm!

*****

I can go back in time, but only in my head

Can't bring five hundred cases back to eat 'em now instead

*****

I can see me now in foregone memory

Going into hock

Selling all my toys, trade them for the joys

Of buying up Boyardee stock!

*****

I want SpaghettiOs so badly right now

Just writing this in verse, I'm craving bad

A time when life was simple, free, and pure

Maybe that did not exist but I can dream, I'm sure

My perfect food, they make my tummy glad!

*****

If I'm going to heck in a handbasket, you might want to know the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjPm0o04lGE

humor
5

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I'm sure there was a time when I loved SpaghettiOs, but that was a really long time ago, lol. But more power to ya, Meredith!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    I had forgotten all about the O’s! Thanks for bringing back a classic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.