Poets logo

When I Say No

Sorry I Could Not Be Your Dakota Dearest

By Dakota Love DanglerPublished 14 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
1

How does one go about describing the kind of guilt I feel?

Guilt of my lack of guilt.

It is trying to know you can never have what you want how you want it.

I know I should not feel this way; I should be grateful for all that I have had thus far.

Most people do not near this in their lifetimes.

Yet the dread still seeps in, growing in the sticky, moist air like mold; like mildew. Feasting… Feasting in death.

I will not hear that joke.

There will be no big group photograph of everyone wearing similar suits laughing off loving insults.

No inquiries as to why chicken nuggets were not uncovered in banquet trays hammocked atop ice blue flames. No pinching sensation felt from the squeezing of my Chubby Cheeks. No “Koter” boasted in that singsong vibrato, despite however many times I hear it crystal clear.

Their pocket squares will not be commented on, those haircuts never had; speeches never rehearsed, shots never taken to calm the biting nerves. Grand titles going unclaimed, turning to dust.

All I worried about was the checking of scores and the indulging on spirits.

Fitting sentence to be left with — indulging on spirits.

I have learned what their fear is.

Gather my ghosts around for the first dance; they are unable to recite the toasts.

Familysad poetryElegy
1

About the Creator

Dakota Love Dangler

Because it's easier to write my thoughts than speak them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Seems like there was quite a bit to unpack here. Good writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.