Poets logo

Go Back to Sleep

Sail On

By Dakota Love DanglerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

Can’t get the dream out of my head.

I hear them dancing on creaky floorboards.

Torture only knows torture.

They say it’s best to ignore her

Or learn to live with her.

Loneliness is a formula.

We steer away from cracking, for it may wake the kids.

Force yet protest the watching of my eyelids.

Watch and watch and watch.

And what does it give?

I never explicitly claimed I wanted kids.

Midnight has come and long gone,

And there is nothing remaining to grasp to help float me along.

All I have to do is stick to the clear blue.

Sip on the cold Patrón,

Suck the sweetness of the lime pulp dry.

Sip, suck, stay, rely

On, in

This.

Drop an anchor.

That moment of time…

Remember the breeze you’d feel every night,

This time.

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysad poetryMental Healthinspirational
2

About the Creator

Dakota Love Dangler

Because it's easier to write my thoughts than speak them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.