Poets logo

Mountain climbing with Shakespeare

A loose dialogue poem for the Dialogue Poetry challenge

By Rachel DeemingPublished 5 days ago 3 min read
9
Mountain climbing with Shakespeare
Photo by Migle Siauciulyte on Unsplash

I cannot be that person.

I'm not asking that of you.

Then I don't know what you want.

All I want is you.

But can't you see you don't?

I don't know what you mean?

You say you want me - it's not true.

You're wrong - all I've ever wanted is you.

No, you want a version of me.

You're not a Barbie doll!

I know that but do you?

I'm struggling here - explain.

You see me as something I'm not.

I see you as you are.

No, you think you do - you think I'm this...

This what? I need to know.

This person to share life with.

Well, isn't that what you are?

Yes and no. I'm not a clone.

I never said you were.

But I can't be like you in things.

I don't expect that of you.

But you do! You do!

But in what way?

You want me to change my ways!

I've never asked you to change for me.

But the expectation is there.

I'm getting confused. You're not content.

I just can't mould myself.

So you think I want more from you...

Than I can give to you.

I see, I think. I'm pressure to you.

You want me to be like you.

I don't. I want us to share.

But that means being someone else.

I want you to do things with me.

I'm not an active sort.

I don't like the theatre.

I find steep climbs a chore.

My bum goes numb at plays.

I wish I could give you more.

I just want you to give me enough.

I feel like I do that already.

You do? So I'm unreasonable.

I think we need some middle ground.

So what do you suggest?

I like to walk just not uphill.

Where's the challenge in that?

It's not about the challenge!

Then what is it all for?

To spend time and talk and take in air.

We do that anyway.

But this is shared experience.

I like to push myself.

I know but I can't join you.

I'm not sure that you try.

I know my limitations.

That you have set yourself.

Self-knowledge is a good thing.

When used in the right way.

This is what I mean.

This is what you mean?

Yes, it's just not me.

Theatre is not me either.

Then why do you come?

Because I'm with you and sharing.

And so it's me, that's what you're saying.

I just want you to try.

I feel the strain with every step.

But we're doing it together.

You enjoy it - I really don't.

It's not different to a play.

It's not physically demanding...

No, but God, I find it dull!

You get nothing from it at all?

Nothing, but I know you do.

So, you come because of me?

Yes, because it's what you like.

Is there anything you get from it?

Yes, there is one thing.

And what is that? This thing you get?

Knowing that you're happy.

Really? That's the only thing?

It depends on what we're watching...

But really, you do it for me?

Yes, I do it for you.

And that's the only reason?

The only reason at all.

I find hills quite demanding.

Shakespeare is an uphill climb.

I had no idea of this.

You didn't need to know.

I think that I should have.

Well, we're here now.

It's going to be hard.

But think of the reward!

I'll try and get past it.

I'll be with you all the way.

There's a mountain to be climbed.

And a shared view from the top.

And you'll come to Macbeth?

I'll endeavour to stay awake.

humorlove poemsinspirationalhow toGratitudeFriendshipFree Verse
9

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Craven4 days ago

    Ah the middle ground. Sometimes it’s hard to find that. This was awesome Rachel.

  • John Cox5 days ago

    Hannah nailed what made this work so amazingly well. We lose track of who’s asking too much or not giving enough. Raw, real, honest. A negotiation between equals trying to find common ground. Simply wonderful!

  • D.K. Shepard5 days ago

    This is SO GOOD! Two perspectives starting at such different points slowly merging into parallel lanes

  • Grz Colm5 days ago

    This felt so voyeuristic Rachel - and it’s just terrific. When is your next movie script coming out?! 😃👏

  • Paul Stewart5 days ago

    This is just perfect, chum. Like...seriously. I love that at first...like Hannah said...that I felt I was siding with the play-lover...I really thought he was being an ass...but then...came his side of things...and then the beautiful, realistic resolution. If only people solved their issues in relationships like this. As ever, you blow me away with your insight and beautiful, frank and simple, but charming way of sharing some great wisdom. This is like a poetic form of one of your minis really. Well bloody done. I really hope this places. :)

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    Love the way I lost track of who felt not enough and who felt not given enough as the both tried to come together.

  • D. J. Reddall5 days ago

    Gluteal numbness does not get the literary attention it merits. Nice work!

  • I can never be like that italicised font. Like I don't wanna do stuff I don't like just because the person I love enjoys it. And I don't want them to do the same for me. But hey, if they wanna do it, I have no problem. It's just not my thing. This was an excellent take on the challenge!

  • Muhammad Safdar5 days ago

    Love this.

  • Belle5 days ago

    I love this... It is so beautiful, and I believe it can resonate with all of us. Astounding work, Rachel! It's a great presentation of the truth of compromise, that two partners can be different, but that you both need to be willing to tackle the uphill climb together to make it work. That you both need to put in effort to show each other you appreciate them. It cannot be uphill for one person, and smooth sailing for another. Both have to work towards it, or else the slope will seem so much worse for the one working. Lovely imagery. I love that sentence, "Shakespeare is an uphill climb." Some things don't come easy for everyone. I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.