Poets logo

Rob Burrow

A tribute

By Rachel DeemingPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
Gerard Barrau, CC BY-SA 3.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

I came in from the warmth of the garden

And the TV news was on;

And you were gone.

I cried.

I don't know you at all.

But I know who you are and who you will continue to be.

There are champions among men

But they don't need trophies to be applauded.

I think that you will be remembered

Less as a rhino to me.

I've seen you with a ball,

Racing and darting in clips.

But that was only part of who you were.

You will stay with me as a fighter,

A man who loved and laughed;

Who saw a debilitating life, as an opportunity,

A challenge that others would shirk.

You tackled it, like the player you were.

While the disease caused you to shrink,

You grew.

You are a giant among men.

You had every right to feel bitter

But it never showed publicly.

Never.

I did not know you on the rugby field;

League is not my thing.

But I know you now and others do too.

41 is no age to die

But you left that life brimming:

Spilling over with love and hope,

A legacy made for others to follow.

I wish I had friends like yours,

Who'd carry me like a baby

Cradled

To share in a moment.

To inspire such love in others

Is a rare, rare gift.

That's what men do:

Support and show strength and love

Unabashedly.

It is a sad day

But I have hope.

Goodbye, Rob Burrow.

social commentarysad poetryinspirationalheartbreakFree Versecelebrities

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 days ago

    Such a beautiful and touching tribute to a life of courage and selflessness. Thanks for sharing Rachel

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Oh so sad for him to die young; you wrote a great tribute!!💕

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    After reading the BBC article, your tribute became even more beautiful. Glad he seemed to live life fully and completely in too short of a frame.

  • Cathy holmes17 days ago

    That was such a lovely tribute.

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    This is such a heartbreaking story. I was sad when I saw the news. Your tribute is spot on.

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    A beautiful tribute, Rachel. Not familiar with his story but sounds like he lived an impactful life despite its brevity

  • Linda Goodman17 days ago

    heartbreaking

  • John Cox17 days ago

    This a deeply moving tribute, Rachel! Pitch perfect writing!

  • shanmuga priya17 days ago

    It's really heartbreaking....to know about his demise.

  • Paul Stewart17 days ago

    aw, this is a fine tribute. Not much of a rugby man in general at all...but I think lots of us admired and respected him and couldn't help love him a little bit for his battles and being such a positive force....despite the circumstances. Him and Doddie can rest now. See...that's the mark of someone...when they transcend their own field their own sport or whatever and are known for something even more important. Anyway, Chum. Well done on such a lovely, warm and positive tribute!

  • I don't know him but it's so sad that he has passed away 🥺

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.