Poets logo

I Dance

A poem for middle-aged me

By Rachel DeemingPublished 18 days ago 1 min read
I Dance
Photo by Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

It took me a long time to live in this skin;

But now, I like it here.

Barry Humphries made me realise,

That sight is not the only sense

But it is the one that judges most.

But if we live our lives by judges,

Then we'll always feel judgement and prejudice

And the jerks of loads of other "juds".

I want to feel other things.

I want to feel a beat in my belly

And I want it to move me,

Filter into me and take me over.

I want it to raise the corners of my mouth

And dominate.

And with that beat, I'm going to close my eyes

And dance like no-one's watching

Through the disapproval and the temptation to mock

As your eyes rove curiously over my widening, slackening form.

I'd look better if I was toned but I'm beyond that

And the moment is here, now and it wants to go

Because time is a driver with a schedule it must keep

And this song is a stop on that ever-moving airport walkway.

I accept the pound of music from a time before,

I revel in the way that it makes me feel;

I am moved by being moved.

I close my eyes and reveal the girl

That I still am, really.

And because my eyes are closed

I imagine yours are too

And liberate myself to the pure enjoyment of the dance.

***

Stream of Consciousnesslove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Andrea Corwin 16 days ago

    Dancing can cheer anyone up, like laughing. Dance when cleaning, dance in the store aisles!

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    Love this!! Dancing is the poetry of movement and open to all to participate!

  • This was such a moving poem. Sorry, couldn’t resist the pun. 🙈 But, no, seriously, I think you’re onto something. The more harshly we judge others, the more we judge ourselves. The more we judge ourselves, the more self conscious we feel, assuming others must be thinking the worst. And maybe they are! But if that’s the case, then they own the problem. Feels light as a feather to let go of negativity. Feels good to float, dance, and soar.

  • So brilliant! Such a positive and important message conveyed in this 🌟💎♥️

  • "Because time is a driver with a schedule it must keep And this song is a stop on that ever-moving airport walkway." These lines are my favourite! They were so deep and I reread them a few times. Loved your poem!

  • Linda Goodman18 days ago

    Fantastic

  • jameel Nawaz18 days ago

    "Beautiful content! I support you and appreciate your support for me. Together, we can achieve great things! 🌟😊"subscribe me

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    Glorious!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.