Poets logo

Extinct

An entry to the Poemosaurus Rex challenge

By Rachel DeemingPublished 27 days ago 1 min read
Extinct
Photo by michael schaffler on Unsplash

I'm not a dinosaur, though you tell me so.

I'm very much here, determined not to go.

You may aim your words like meteorites

Or hope I'll slink off and away in the night

But I'm very much a part of this world,

Am holding on grimly with my hands that curl.

I like to sit and spout home truths, which hook

And barb and fester; pierce you with a look -

You quail at the wisdom of the ancient crone

Whose seen it all, done it all and drives it home.

I hunt your loose opinions to maim

The youthful optimism they contain.

Shake them, tear them to pieces and devour:

I can't allow positivity to flower.

My domain must remain dark and spiteful

Thorny tangles with vines impenetrable;

Enter the jungle! You will become trapped

And I will ensnare you, in my jaws wrapped

Where I can chew you slowly bit by bit

And wear you down with my corrosive spit.

***

Your mottled skin, your tarnished breath, your eyes -

Bloodshot lasers to cut us down to size.

You are a monster in a monstrous shell

Demanding your respect, to be treated well -

But there's nowhere expansive with views so narrow

Your company so bleak it begins to harrow.

Top of the food chain is a lonely place-

You'd love people to come and share your space

But in this, you will find you are always beaten:

To survive, the good will avoid getting eaten.

They're looking outwards to much brighter things:

Like hot orbs from heaven, quickly descending

To rock your limited world, impact your sphere,

Telling you things that you won't want to hear,

Presenting you with a grander world view

Which may, in future, or may not include you.

Perhaps you'll survive if softer you become

Start singing a tune that we can all love

And from negativity try to sever

And brighten that flesh with colourful feathers.

For someone so wise, you are lacking instinct.

You're in danger, old bird, of becoming extinct.

sad poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran26 days ago

    I'm so happy to see that you've used it as a metaphor! I was talking to Donna and told her that I wanted to use it as a metaphor but realised that they wanted an actual dinosaur. I told her I'd still do a metaphors if amy idea came to me but lol, none came. So reading this made me so happy although it was a poignant poem. Well done, Super Rach!

  • TheSpinstress26 days ago

    Ooh, a metaphorical dinosaur. I love these lines: "holding on grimly with my hands that curl" and "you're in danger, old bird, of becoming extinct". Good luck in the challenge!

  • Caroline Craven26 days ago

    Love these lines: You are a monster in a monstrous shell Demanding your respect, to be treated well Great entry Rachel - very clever.

  • John Cox26 days ago

    Excellent challenge entry, Rachel, with some really wonderful lines and a jolting finish. I especially loved “brighten that flesh with colorful feathers.” I loved it so much I read it twice!

  • D.K. Shepard27 days ago

    Great use of split perspective in this! And the rhyme gave it a consistent cadence. Like the mash up of animalistic dinosaur imagery with the concept of a human dinosaur! Admittedly, I did a bit of it for mine but in a narrative format, but the juxtaposition comes across much better in yours!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.