Poets logo

Moon-Milk Eyes

Did you see that last reflection on the earth’s water?

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
46
Moon-Milk Eyes
Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash

Her huge saucer eyes fill with milk,

I lap it up and drown in their waves.

Her immense moon eyes cover the earth,

I can’t see the blue water.

Where is the tidal reflection, Star-Dreamer, what does it tell us of our stormy hearts?

Her sweeping, majestic moon-milk mirrors

Can beat any mountain.

I cannot breathe when I get too near,

They sink me into it’s glossy, milky depths.

Giant eyes fill the sky, I do not want to hide

I drink them in,

They tantalize

Mortal fear may hypnotize

All others into submission,

But I’m yours forever, Moon-Milk Eyes,

In your silky arms forever,

Towering above green and blue and mountain.

I awaken,

Where is she,

My dear love?

My goddess of grace and milky green glory?

The hole in my heart grows deeper.

I’m lost without her.

I look outside, there is the moon,

I feel her in the reflection,

My heart aches and I tremble.

performance poetry
46

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Michelle Renee Kidwell2 years ago

    Beautiful poem…

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Very lovely!

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    ❤️❤️❤️‼️‼️

  • From your first few lines I was under the impression that you were speaking of a cat. "Her huge saucer eyes fill with milk" Cats have saucer shaped eyes. Their milk is sometimes in a small saucer. 'I lap it up and drown in their waves" A cat laps up their milk. Sometimes the action of lapping causes ripples and waves in the saucer of milk. "I cannot breathe when I get too near" I am extremely allergic to cats (and dogs) and when I am near them I cannot breath... It ís absolutely horrible. But as I read 5here are less cat-likevrefernces and the porm focuses on nature. "Towering above green and blue and mountain." Well written. Very original.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Beautiful and uniquely expressed. I read it three times and enjoyed it each time.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Amazing imagery, great job!

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Absolutely beautiful poem with amazing imagery. Very well deserved Top Story!

  • Elesha Bennett2 years ago

    This was beautiful.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! 💖 And whoaaaa this was so deep and beautiful. A very unique love poem. Brilliant use of imageries. I loved your poem so much!

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    Fabulous imagery. ❤

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is fantastic, Melissa. Congrats on the top story

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!!! Loving it! Congrats on Top Story!!!

  • A. Nguyen2 years ago

    As a lover of both the stars and ocean I quite enjoyed this, especially with the "milk" addition because its different (in a good way) than the usual overplayed romanticisms people use when speaking of the eyes

  • As always absolutely beautiful my sister in rhyme

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.