Poets logo

Mocked by Magpies and Moths

'Grief is Love hidden in a dark coat.'

By jessica moonan daviesPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Mocked by Magpies and Moths
Photo by McGill Library on Unsplash

I left the moth lying on the bathroom sink

Don’t you just hate waking up like this

The feelings not gone but your sight has changed

everything changed when June turned 22

Sunset broke and took the walls from me

How can you stand and watch

Shades of blue

Magpies mock you

The sky carried on like it hadn’t even blinked

I felt my pillow for the knife

Is this the best you can do?

I have not known who I am for the longest time

Grief changes a lot, it restarts the mind

The edge on my fingers

My fingers on the edge

Jumping from here wouldn’t make anything end

I won’t take the walls from them

But I left the moth where it was, on the bathroom sink

If nothing has changed

I’d know whose mind im in

The moth was gone

The spider that hung from my wall

They know more than my fingers

They know more than you

Where did they go?

Why did you?

Was that you on my bathroom sink?

Did you come home after all this?

Come home again

Stay until the end

Be the magpie in my garden

Flash of sunlight in the rear view mirror

Be home again

Call my name from downstairs

But just stay this time

Let me see you again.

For my mum, who I miss and love more than anything. 22/6/22

love poemssad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

jessica moonan davies

in a world of my own🐇

20.

obsessed with alice in wonderland, remus lupin, space, and anything mythical or gothic

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Your poem was very poignant and emotional.

jessica moonan daviesWritten by jessica moonan davies

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.