Poets logo

Misplaced

Sometimes By Choice

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
9
Misplaced
Photo by Oscar Sutton on Unsplash

I've lost myself, I’ve been misplaced

At least that's how it seems

I cannot find that holy space

Designed for only me

I try to fit the bill

Or maybe - I could fill a need

But still, I've been left feeling

Out of touch and Incomplete

*

It seems that I went missing

I guess it's been near ten years now

Casually dismissing

How I feel, somehow

I put on all these masks

To help me keep it covered-up

I hate having to ask

Or accepting any help

*

So, lost I choose to stay

Stuck down here, deep inside this rut

Abandoned, out of the way

I continue - keeping myself

I don't like or want to shake

Or stir-up anybody's pot

But decisions have been made

Whether I like it, or do not

*

The mundane day to day

challenges my spirit and my will

So, I've learned to softly sway

Like the sturdy whippoorwill

My arms spread-out like branches

Sweeping gently across the ground

Until all of my lost chances

That I love, have all been found

*

Unlike myself....

Misplaced, is where I choose to stay

Kept high upon a shelf

A wild beast wandering estray

Fitting someone else's mold

From someone else's hand

Someone else's dream I hold

Kept held, in strict remand

*

Observing others on their quests

Scrutinizing my own fate

Until I manifest

Internal battles, that I refuse to contemplate

A lost cause or just misplaced

Lost in a sea of my regret

Displaying my faux pas

That I've forgotten to forget

*

Senseless as a no parking sign

On a buoy out at sea

Or a bartenders first call

My idiosyncrasies

Firstly overlooked

Blending myself into the crowd

Rescheduled and rebooked

Carried away upon a cloud

*

Mis-guided and misjudged

A fish out of its water

Directions all besmudged

A grammatical word squatter

Wayward, but carrying on

Still no-where to be found

The cow bell when the band has gone

singing; bringing in the clowns

*

I've mis-stepped and I've mis-spoken

Missed the bus and been called out

My feelings left wide open

I know what misplaced is about

Missed the mark and lost my nerve

And the real funny thing is

If you get what is deserved

Misplaced - truly is my biz

*

Now, I don't want you to feel sorry

I worked hard to get me here

I don't need a pity party

Won't see me cryin' in my beer

The truth is, I've found solace

And as silly as that sounds

I can't pretend to be flawless

Somedays, I simply don't want to be found

*

If there ever comes a day

I want to give it another go

I get to make the rules to play

Choose the me I choose to show

But I can guarantee

I'll make my return, well rounded

I'll like the me you see

I'll be transparent and well grounded

*

Give the people pleaser in me

At least a couple days of rest

And tell the powers that may be

That this is me, doing my best

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    This was a great read, and very thought-provoking. An original take on the idea of a misplaced item, and the ending brings hope! “Like the sturdy whippoorwill My arms spread-out like branches Sweeping gently across the ground”- really liked this one.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    "Missed the mark and lost my nerve And the real funny thing is If you get what is deserved" My favorite lines🥰😍

  • Gosh that was so intense and powerful! As a people pleaser, I felt this was so relatable and something that I really needed to read!

  • Thee & me both, Kelli.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.