Poets logo

Beware

The Eyes Don't Lie

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Beware
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Beware

they said -

don't get too close

a lie is trickier than most

a smile can catch you by surprise

the truth is hiding in their eyes

don't get too close

they said -

Beware

surreal poetryFor Fun

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    I like how the opening and closing of this poem is mirrored, and the sentences getting increasingly longer or shorter as you read is a nice touch. “a smile can catch you by surprise“ is a lovely line, yet in this context it’s a warning!

  • Anna 5 months ago

    "The eyes don't lie" So true and beautiful🥰

  • Rachael MacDonald5 months ago

    Worth the double read :) well crafted <3

  • This was so good. Incredible from top to the bottom and the bottom up

  • Oooo, is this for the Inverse challenge? It reads so well both ways!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Ah, the eyes, the windows to the soul. And the smile of tricksters. Well said.

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    The truth is in the eyes! and a smile can hide the truth. Look closely at the eyes, keeping your distance until the smile matches the eyes. Nicely done, Kelli.

  • What if they're wearing shades (or blind)? Well done, Kelli, & usually true. As an autistic, it's a bit different. Mom told me I had to look people in the eyes or they'd think I was lying. I learned to compensate by focusing on the bridge of the nose or one of their cheeks. The reality is, if I'm looking away from you, chances are I'm trying to remember so as to be as accurate & honest as possible. As I told my counselor (much to his surprise), if I actually look you in the eyes, it's not a sign that I'm being honest (though, let's face it, I'm probably still trying), it's an act of defiance.

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    Great!😊💕

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.