Poets logo

Mini Pizzas

Fucking discontinued by Pillsbury

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
50
Mini Pizzas
Photo by shayan ramesht on Unsplash

Kshh, Kshh, Kshh.

Shhhhhhhh!

I whisper-yell at my brother

Hoping not to wake, mother

 

Thunk, he places it on a small plate

Immediately, I begin to salivate

A long-forgotten frozen treat

He puts it in the oven to heat

 

The aroma begins to fill the room

Pepperoni, bacon and mushroom

Melted cheese and chewy dough

Which makes my waistline grow

 

Burned fingers

The feeling lingers

Jumps from hand to hand

With heat, I can’t stand

 

I can’t wait until it’s cool

My brother begins to drool

Waiting for his to come out

Delicious beyond a doubt

 

My mind still remembers the flavour

The very thought I will savour

How I miss the taste of thee

Pillsbury took it away from me

 

Authors Note:

My favourite childhood or teenage snack was these microwavable mini pizzas made by Pillsbury. My brother and I used to sneak out of bed to warm up a couple and take to bed, just the memory makes me hungry for one. But since adulthood, Pillsbury has discontinued these treats, and I will never forgive them for this transgression, as I still crave them to this day.

Here is a petition page I found, begging Pillsbury to Reinstate them: https://www.change.org/p/urge-pillsbury-to-reinstate-their-frozen-mini-pizzas

Join the Cause!!! 💚

humorheartbreakFor FunFamily
50

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! 💚💙💜🩵

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliasterabout a month ago

    I never had pillsbury mini pizzas before, and that's because I always had totinos pizza rolls growing up as a kid. Mini pizza bagel bites. Not the lunchables stuff. I never had that stuff before. Well, I think I got it once cause I always saw it on commercials and I thought that it was something that all the cool kids ate cause all the cool kids were eating them. Then when I finally got one as a little kid, it didn't taste really good and I was still hungry afterwards. A lunch that mom taught me to make (and that she would also make on more than several occasions, love You mom) was already made for enjoyment, but a lunchables lunch, especially the pizza ones, was just lunch with extra steps with took extra time that I should've been using to savor my meal's flavor. Well, is there a recipe that's available that would allow You to make Your own mini pizzas? Cause I know that people take mozzarella cheese and pepperonis and stuff pillsbury biscuits with them for cheap and easy calzones.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Well how very dare they! :o

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    Loved the story that grabs hold of the reader at easily as something most of us can relate to. I remembered sneaking into the kitchen with my sister in the middle of the night to pilfer some forbidden snack. Great job!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    I’m glad I had my dinner before reading this otherwise I’d have been phoning for take out pizza! Can’t believe they discontinued your favourite pizza snack. That must be unconstitutional! Great writing Donna!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I feel like Simon Cowell hitting the buzzer and swinging around in my chair; I subscribed, you got me good! I remember toaster oven pizzas, obviously I am older! Sneaking out of bed for some innocent fun wins all.

  • Caption Best2 months ago

    🌟 Looking for the perfect caption? Look no further! Caption Best has got you covered with the best captions for every occasion! 💬 Visit our website for endless inspiration! #Captions #Inspiration #VisitUs 🌐

  • Sid Aaron Hirji2 months ago

    So they were discontinued everywhere! Gzz on ts

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    So funny, Donna! I will sign and help Pillsbury see the error of their ways.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    The foolish cruelty of them to deprive you- how dare they?!

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    I can totally relate to being angry at a company for discontinuing a beloved product! Hello Hansen used to make a sneaker that I wore every. Single. Day. For, no word of a lie, 13 months straight. This poem made me extremely nostalgic for something I’ve never known Donna!! Beautifully told piece of narrative in verse! Congrats on a well deserved top story 🥳🥳🥳🥳💖

  • I've signed the petition! Ugh it's soooo annoying when people discontinue things, especially food! I've had so many food that I like that have been discontinued. Hopefully Pillsbury, brings it back though. Also, I loveeeeee pizza! Mmmm, your poem made me soooo hungry! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Kodah2 months ago

    I got a pizza after reading this 😂😂😂 COngrats on top story, Donna! 💖

  • Grz Colm2 months ago

    Hey Donna!! I hate it went they take our favourites away. It really does feel like a personal transgression. Loved your fun and peppy piece! Excellent to read something from you again. ☺️ I’ve mostly been very quiet of late. Hope you are well. Have a good one!😊

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    I hate when the food I loved as a kid disappears (damn you, Zima!) Anyway, great Top Story!

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    Great poem! I wish I could have one of these pizzas! Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Man, I could use a pizza. Congrats on top story!

  • Brin J.2 months ago

    Omg those things were so hot! The cheese always burned the roof of my mouth, but I must've been a masochist, because I'd torture myself every. single. time.😆 They were just too good to wait for.

  • Spencer Goldade2 months ago

    I came for the subtitle and stayed for the awesome lines!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Wow, that’s shocking that Pillsbury discontinued!!! Love how you made the announcement, congratulations on top story !

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    OMG Pillsbury shouldn't have discontinued!!! Love the flow and the rhymes!!! Loved it!💕❤️❤️ Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Matthew Daniels2 months ago

    [Ignites lightsaber] I am one with the Force, give us pizzas. P.S. grats on the top story!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Back to say Congrats Way to go

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    I'm so sorry about your pizza. May it rest in peace. Or hopefully get resurrected. lol. this is great. Congrats on the TS.

  • Yum 🤤 nicely written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.