Poets logo

Maybe Someday.

February Write Club Challenge

By Tommy BallardPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
Acid Rain - An Original Glitch Art Piece

While I wrote this as a poem, I was thinking of a melody as I wrote it, I consider it's cadence as read to be thought of more alike to those of song lyrics than a traditional poem.

This is a submission for RM Stockton's Febuary write club "Monster Under Your Bed" Challenge, this particular piece focusing on self-doubt and the oft-overwhelming obsession with competition and success. Link to the challenge embedded below.

Maybe someday,

All the toil and toll will pay,

Maybe someday,

Life will have more brighter days.

The person I see is not the one I dreamt I’d be,

Self doubt seeps into my soliloquy,

In the mirror I see me telling me what I’ll never be,

The fear of failure freezes me,

I’m my own worst enemy.

Maybe someday light will leak,

Darkness won’t be all I see,

Maybe I could accept me,

Someday, may I just be?

Obsession keeps me up all night,

Competition’s all in life,

To me winning is everything,

Yet when I do I feel nothing,

Maybe someday I will find,

A way to feel self-satisfied,

Without ego, doubt or rage,

Could I turn a brand new page?

Maybe someday.

Song LyricsFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    We all feel like that sometimes. This is really lyrics to a song. Why are we all so obsessed. That is the question. I feel your words.

  • Tommy, your poem has such enormous depth of meaning. Maybe someday . . . It is what we so often tell ourselves. This is beautifully written. I wonder how I have missed your creations before. I am sorry for that oversight. I will be going back to read other works on your page. Incredible!

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Loved this. I hope you’re feeling okay! ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.