Poets logo

Waves.

In Tepid Waters. // Inverse Challenge Submission

By Tommy BallardPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Long exposure photo I took of a full moon and stars recently.

Waves

I'll see you soon, I can feel the salt water burning in my lungs.

I can taste the ocean on my tongue.

I made my plans last night and plotted this course.

I left a note on the table that looked just like yours.

Now when someone wonders where we've gone they'll know we've left to be together, forevermore.

I stared at the stars from a balcony last night and thought of you.

The weather channel was on in the room, it was making rumbles about a storm passing through.

It's so serene this eve but I'm the only one that braved to leave the shore.

I guess everybody else just gets scared when they hear categories given to storms.

The waves are as calm as I suspected they'd really be.

Just keep sailing on through this perfect sea, this time tomorrow it'll be just you and me.

artsurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetry
5

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    The inverse is the toughest challenge I’ve tried so far! It’s always tricky to see if readers will pick up on what you know is in there, and if they’ll see it the same way too…I re-read this and realised what I had missed the first time- that the speaker is in the water and close to drowning at the top/reverse read? Whereas they seem to be just heading out on their boat at the bottom/end. “It's so serene this eve but I'm the only one that braved to leave the shore” is a great line. Good luck in the challenge😊

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    You did a very good job with this.

  • I don't know how well I pulled off the inverse here so I'm hoping it actually kinda works? Lol. This is a tough challenge for sure. It felt like it worked well on first read through and on second it felt like it was too on the nose not to be interpreted similarly both ways so we'll see how others interpret it I guess cause I'm just nitpicking at this point myself to the point I have no idea if it works to other readers or not.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.