Poets logo

Make Your Move

An entry for the Smooth challenge

By Rachel DeemingPublished 8 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
Make Your Move
Photo by Neal E. Johnson on Unsplash

Watch me as I make my move.

You can call me Mister Smooth.

Mamma mia, dancing queen

Young and sweet, seventeen.

Get up close, soul to soul

Papa was a rolling stone.

Shimmy, shimmy, side to side.

From my crow's nest, watch me glide.

Here I come. Ring my bell.

It's Teen Spirit you can smell.

Coming to the dancefloor's edge

Easing in to make a wedge.

Whoo! You should be dancing, yeah!

Put your hands up in the air!

Neon flashes, smoky air -

Can you see me through the glare?

Eighties' classics help me move

Get into the holiday groove.

I am sidling through the throng

Writhing bodies, young and strong-

Shiny happy people laughing

Heads back, mouths wide, bodies jamming.

Pump it up! Staying alive,

Let me see that body jive.

I like the squash the dancefloor brings

The chance to worm my way right in

And press myself against you, close

Before you think I'm being gross.

I know groove is in the heart

They will never tear us apart.

You turn around. We're face to face,

Moving awkwardly, no more space.

Now I put my hands on hips,

Focus on those pouting lips

Do you love me? Watch me now!

Building problems to the size of a cow.

I just want to be crazy in love

Heart to heart, hand in glove.

I feel love. You feel nothing.

Wild thing! Make my heart sing!

I can sense your interest wane.

I'm a creep, House of Pain.

Back to the bar, courage in a glass.

Looking for a piece of ass.

Hit me baby, one more time!

Maybe I'll get lucky next time.

***

A throwback to my days of dancing at nightclubs and watching the odd chancer attempt to approach a girl - not necessarily me - on the dancefloor. I thought it might be fun to include some of the music lyrics and titles that might have been playing at the time and have gone for a medley of things that I have through my lifetime boogied, moshed or listened to.

Thanks for stopping by! If you read this, please do drop a comment and I'll hopefully read it and respond. Let's start a conversation!

humorperformance poetry

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Test7 months ago

    Great entry -loved the way you interweaved the lines of the songs and subverted the idea of smooth ๐Ÿค

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    This got me in a dancing mood ๐Ÿ’ƒ๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ•บ๐Ÿพputting lines from dancing song together . This is definitely a smooth poem in my book ๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    RD ~ You make my heart โ€˜Singโ€™ ~ โ€” So Lovely โ€” JB

  • Oooo, this was definitely smooth. Too bad she wasn't interested. Lol. Loved your poem!

  • L.C. Schรคfer8 months ago

    Clever take on the challenge ๐Ÿ˜ Nothing smoother than a well-executed mating dance!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Well this is a window into your age! I loved how you wove that soundtrack through.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘This was very feel-good!! I loved all the music refs! But even without these you kinda still captured the frenetic feelings of those nights in our younger days and dancing the night away! ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Ah, those days of dancefloor glory. I remember them so well. Now I dance to the rhythms by myself, young ones finding the moves so funny. Great memories.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.