Poets logo

Love's Wake

The enormity of love

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
Love's Wake
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

the day I knew

the depths of love

wasn’t the day

we met in kindergarten

you, a Mutant Ninja Turtle

and I, Wonder Woman

it wasn’t the day I twisted my ankle

and you twisted so many lemons

into water, ice, and sugar to make me smile again

it wasn’t the day you brought me

to your hiding place—your tree fort in your wild backyard

or the day you realized you no longer needed one

it wasn't the day you bought me a corsage and

your flowers made me sneeze all night

or the nights we choose to keep the faith

until we both were ready

it wasn’t when you held my hair the day oysters tried to kill me

or the time you outran rain

to come get to me

when my wheels slipped and caught and crunched

across the embankment

or the times you sang your perfect songs for me

or the day I presented you with your dream car, secondhand

or the moment we chose to make love for the first time

it was not that perfect day

when you spoke the words

and I spoke them, too,

when nothing and everything

between us

changed

nor was it the day when my water broke—and we were so broke!—

when all that mattered

was the miracle breathing between us,

because of us,

already the best of each of us

it could have been but was not the day

you saved me

from swallowing

too many

when the postpartum sought

to swallow me whole

nor was it the day we walked

our darling baby girl

into her

first day of kindergarten

all curious

big brown eyes, tiny yellow dress, bouncy caramel curls

and that laugh that could fuel the sun

I thought I knew then,

but I knew

nothing

until

the day

came

with

a

phone

call

and I

collapsed

under its

weight:

where they’d found her

how they’d found her

in that moment I knew

its enormity

***

Copyright © 05/21/2016 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    This was extremely moving, Christy. A love story indeed with all its simplicity and all of its pain. I loved the way that you built it up, each crucial stage of growth in a relationship. A mini window on a life. Sad though.

  • F Cade Swanson3 months ago

    This is so beautiful and heartbreakingly sad. Your words make me feel so deeply.

  • Patrick M. Ohana4 months ago

    I always hope it's fiction, as I tend to write mostly fiction with bearable endings. A touching piece!

  • Test4 months ago

    Christy your words are like a window into the depths of your soul. Your sadness is palpable, but so is your strength in expressing it."

  • Caroline Craven5 months ago

    Gosh there are so many phenomenal lines in this. It was utterly beautiful and heartbreakingly sad. Great writing.

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.