Poets logo

LOVE OR HATE

Passion, Hate, Rage, Commitment

By Samuel IchuPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like

In the depths of my heart lies a pain,

a piercing ache that won't refrain,

it's the remnants of a love long gone,

that left me feeling so alone.

We met and sparks flew instantly,

it was like a bolt of lightning just hit me,

she had a smile that lit up my life,

and a laugh that calmed all my strife.

But as days turned into weeks,

I began to see the pain that it brings,

her words would sting like a thousand bees,

I felt like I was caught in a whirlwind of deceit.

The love that we shared wasn't enough,

I soon realized it was all just a bluff,

she would fill me with her sweet lies,

and then turn around and break my heart with her goodbyes.

I didn't want to let her go,

but I knew deep down I had to,

for every moment she was near,

my heart felt like it was filled with fear.

She was the sun to my world,

and as soon as she was gone, my world was twirled,

the days felt so long and lonely,

my heart so shattered and phony.

I tried to move on and let go,

but all my efforts just left me feeling low,

the love had gone too deep,

and my heart just couldn't help but weep.

We said our goodbyes and went our separate ways,

but in my heart she remained, eternally engraved,

I knew that this love was toxic and wrong,

but I couldn't help but sing her a love song.

It's been a while since we said goodbye,

I've tried to keep moving on and not cry,

but sometimes I can't help but wonder,

if I made a mistake in letting her yonder.

The pain of love stings so deep,

that even the slightest sound makes me weep,

I wish I could turn back time,

and change the moment that ended our love's prime.

But alas, time can't be undone,

and my heart still feels like it's on the run,

this love may have left me broken,

but I vow to get up, try again, and keep going.

For love is a complicated thing,

it can make our hearts soar or make them sting,

but I won't be afraid to love again,

even if it means I may feel pain.

I'll keep my heart open and pure,

and hope that one day, love may once more,

find a way into my being,

and give me another chance at feeling.

For though this love was painful and cruel,

it taught me a lesson, and for that, I am grateful,

I learned to love deeply and with all my heart,

even if it meant the pain of having to part.

And so, I'll keep moving forward,

even if my heart feels a little tort,

for I know that one day, I'll find,

a love that is real, pure, and kind.

The memories of our love still haunts me,

The happy moments we shared now seem empty,

A love that was meant to last forever

Ended up being an illusion I wanted to sever.

I thought she was the missing piece to my puzzle,

But reality was something else, a harsh muzzle,

She played with my heart and emotions so well,

Without considering the wounds she was causing to swell.

Each day I look at her picture in my phone,

Memories flood back but my heart remains alone,

I see the love that once we possessed

And it leaves my soul hexed and possessed.

I try to remind myself that it is over,

But my mind wanders and I feel like a rover,

Trying to go back to a time that has faded away,

To a love that was never meant to stay.

I see her happy with someone else,

The thought of it leaves me pained and unwell,

I see the passion and love they share

And I can't help but compare.

I was left with nothing but my solitude,

A broken heart and memories of our interlude,

It takes all my strength to go on each day

The memories keep nibbling away.

But I am not ready to give up on love,

Not ready to let go and bow to fate's shove,

I am ready to face the pain that love brings,

Ready to open my heart and let my soul sing.

Our love may have ended in tears and pain,

But my heart still yearns for the love that we gained,

It may take time for the wounds to heal,

But I am ready to forgive and forget, to seal.

For love has the power to heal and mend,

And I am willing to try again till the end,

I will keep searching for the missing piece,

And find a love that will finally bring me peace.

It's true what they say, love hurts,

And I can attest to that with every word,

The love we shared was once so strong,

But now it feels like it doesn't belong.

My heart may still be healing from the pain,

But I refuse to let the love I felt go in vain,

I'll hold onto the happy memories we shared,

And treasure the love that we once dared.

I'll look back at our love as a lesson learned,

And use it to help me grow, improve and become,

A better version of myself, stronger, wiser,

Ready to welcome a love that will take me higher.

See, love is like a rollercoaster ride,

It will give you the highest highs, knock you down and make you slide,

Love is a journey, not a destination,

And even painful love, is still an education.

As I look back on our love with clarity,

I realize that we were never meant to be,

And though it still hurts to say goodbye,

I'll use the pain to propel me to new heights.

So here's to the painful love experiences,

To the ones that leave us scarred and hesitant,

May we remember the lessons they taught us well,

And keep growing, learning, and on love's path dwell.

For love is out there, waiting to be found,

And if we're open to it, it will come around,

So I'll keep my eyes and heart open wide,

And someday soon, love will once again take me for a ride.

I will not let the pain of the past dictate my future,

Nor will I let it hold me back like a captive debtor,

I will learn from the mistakes I made,

And use them as stepping stones to the love I crave.

The journey may be long and winding,

But as long as I keep moving forward, I'll be finding,

A love that will light up my life,

And make all the pain of the past seem like a trifle strife.

So here's to the painful love experience,

To the ones that left us hurt and with a fence,

May we use them to grow and rise above,

And find a love that will fill our life with love.

For even though the journey may be rough,

And the pain of love may seem too tough,

We must remember that after the rain, comes the sun,

And eventually, our true love, we will have won.

I've learned that love is a precious gift,

And it's not worth settling for anything less than a perfect fit,

So I'll keep searching until I find,

A love that will be all mine.

And when I look back at the painful love experience,

I'll remember that it was just a stepping fence,

And though it may have left me scarred and bruised,

It's made me stronger and wiser, and ready to choose.

So let's not be afraid to love with all our heart,

For even though it may bring us pain from the start,

It's worth the risk to find a love that's true,

And to live a life that's filled with love anew.

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakfact or fictioncelebritiesbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.