Poets logo

Love at a Distance

a personal poem about long-distance relationships, and the vicious cycle.

By jenna j Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Credit: Jeremy Morris (Unsplash)

I'd wake up to the sound of snow falling off the tree branches and the sun flooding across the floor, you would have already left for work hours ago.

I'd gather my things, grab the notepad off of the fridge and write you a love note

making sure to leave it on your pillow where you will see it.

With each visit, it became harder,

I would wake up and you'd already be gone.

I look over at the wrinkles in the sheets, running my fingers along the imprint of where your body was.

Once again, I gather my things, pour my heart into the notepad and leave the note on your pillow.

I did that each time before I left.

I sob on my drive home, screaming I miss you until my voice breaks.

Although I never tell you

I feel out of place for a day

until it all fades away

until the cycle repeats itself.

All the I love yous, I never say them to hear it back

I say them so you know.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

jenna j

random little things from time to time :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.