Poets logo

Love and Marriage

The cliche of love and marriage

By Ruthie M.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
I wrote this poem after speaking with my good friend Sonia. She told me her marriage was over. She told me he had an affair and she said to me, "It is so cliche" So I wrote this poem for her, myself and all of my female friends who went through spousal abandonment. Once bitten, twice shy. For I will NEVER marry again. That is a promise I know I can keep!

LOVE AND MARRIAGE

Til Death Do US part

They say

What a cliche.

Such a lie

I now see

The absurdity

Listen to what I say

Til death do us part?

What does that mean?

The death of us?

Or the death of our love?

It’s always the same

Romance is cliche

Weddings too

It always ends

Every time

It always ends

But it starts the same

Stolen glances

Courting rituals

Roses, cards and promises

Then

Candlelight dinners and wine

Satin sheets, lingerie

Massages and slow dances

Whispering “I Love you”

What a cliche

Will you marry me?

Squeals of delight

What did you say?

Engagement rings

What a cliche

Slow down and think

“Not this again”

Announcements

The Church, Reception Hall

Bridesmaids, Maid of Honor

Groomsmen, Best Man

What a cliche

Rehearsal Dinner

Champagne glasses

Forks clinking

Kisses

Speech, Speech!

They say..

“I am so happy for you”

What a cliche

WAIT..

Stop and think

Not this again

It’s not real

It is a lie

A cliche

But what can you say?

Pachelbel CANON IN D

Bridal Walk

1 Corinthians 13

It’s the bride’s special day

Wait!

Stop and think!

What a cliche!

First dance....

Champagne toast

Bouquet toss and

Garter too

So? Who's next ?

Who caught it?

What a special day

Wait!

Stop and think....

What a cliche!

Cut the cake

Throw the rice

Limousine

Drive away

“Just Married”

Cans clanging

What a cliche!

Honeymoon lovers

Bridal suite

Sunshine and love

Beaches, moonlight walks

Making love every day

Wait!

Stop and think!

What a cliche!

Later

Back home

Lovers entwine

But life settles in

It is reality time

One day you truly see

But what can you do?

What can you say?

You should have listened to me

What a cliche!

Late nights at the office

Who is she?

Marriage counseling

It’s not working

Time to call it a day

You should have stopped

And realized

This is such a cliche!

Divorce

Crying, yelling

Splitting, 50/50

How do I go on?

There is nothing left to say

You should have stopped

Listened and realized

How this is so cliche!

So… til death do us part?

Or the death of my love?

Some say it is

Better to have loved

And lost

Tomorrow is another day

But I am here to yell

STOP! THINK!

LISTEN!

It does not have to be this way

You do not have to be a part

Of such a cliche!

So ladies remember

it is better it stays this way

You do not need a man

To be complete or happy

For it always ends the same way

With you explaining to people

Like my friend did to me

One day...

Her husband found

A younger woman

He left her to go with her

And when I asked her why

She looked at me

And said

That man is such a cliche....

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ruthie M.

Special Education teacher, student advocate, mother, dancer and a writer. . I have now begun categorizing and refining my story drafts. The Good, The Bad and the Ugly. I protect the identities of the characters in my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.