Poets logo

sun

Poem for my grandmother Antoinette Ingoldsby. May she rest in peace; her birthday was yesterday

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
8
Framed picture of my grandma

how can you break down your syllabic structure like dancing rain against the windy lake,

The structure of the struggle that made you so brave

So warm that the very heat beams from the sun are jealous of your radiant energy

Demands of more warmth than there ever was possible

More cozy than a long, uninterrupted hug

More deep than a hearth fire and rich hot chocolate

I spoke through your story

tears so hard like a broken cut of rain, pebbles against the grass

I found your sun clinging to my face

So utterly

Broken down into the most stellar parts of warm,

extramundane, ethereal

I felt your love for an instant

Yet forevermore in my heart

Warm, warm

Warm.

sad poetryinspirational
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 days ago

    Gorgeous tribute, she sounds like a wonderful person ❤

  • This was so poignant, emotional and beautiful. A wonderful tribute to your grandma!

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Brilliantly and exquisitely written!!! Lived it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    Every word more tender than the next. Love it all but this part speaks to me in reverberating whispers: "More deep than a hearth fire and rich hot chocolate I spoke through your story tears so hard like a broken cut of rain, pebbles against the grass"

  • Gosh this is so beautifully written Mel, wow. How poetic, how full, so much heart and sun and warmth.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.