Poets logo

Lost Words

A Collection of What I Threw Away

By Mya DoerksenPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like
Lost Words
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

When the sun goes down,

I like to lay on sunrise sanctums

Forget-me-nots sing in the sun

freeing the blue inside me

Stop talking to me like you know how the sun turns.

Like you know anything more than what's under the bed.

Why are you blind, why are you deaf.

Read my lips and tell me I’m crazy.

The screaming sensation of bleeding acid and hopelessness.

Make the corners of my eyes tremble until they burst.

A wink of a thought

Empty food falling through an empty throat

Paranoid cracks in the concrete

Sleepless in Seattle with no way home

She doesn’t like your eyes

Not that she can see them

A crinkling band of flames

Silk orange scarves and golden veils

Hypnotising amber eyes

With the enchanting music that lulls you to sleep

The ash which was smitten on the log

Became delicate snow

Loam the grass and the green

Seeds spread far and wide in the wind

The crying wisps of child age

Polluting arcades with the violet cries of GAME OVER

I despise to touch

but cannot avoid the urge.

A brown-spotted time bomb

Who I love dearly

Raindrops race down windows

The thunderous sound of drums echo in the clouds

An abridged branch brushing against the wall

Let me guide the rays of sunshine to your pitiful locks.

Sunflowers and dandelions look too much like light in your eyes.

Sweet scented marshmallow flakes in tear-eyed, glass-stained windows.

I see us dancing

In the kitchen while silence plays on stereo

Your laughter is contagious,

I fall asleep to your sound

The eyes of a doe, so beautiful and brown

Wide and innocent, hypnotised by headlights.

Speaking into the lost words inside.

I hope you’ll remember me as the girl with the butterfly mask.

Afternoon caskets and pearly underwear

Stolen behind sheaths of silver and snow

I’ll live my life like a book

A poem being rewritten everyday

And if I’m gonna be honest

I gonna need a little strength to breathe

I do want to live my life by the sea

My heart is an out-of-tune piano

The songs that make no mistakes or inflections

pluck my heartstrings

When the sun goes down,

Is there any use in trying to find yourself

When there’s only all of you left to see?

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Mya Doerksen

Hi there, I'm a student, a writer and an aspring author. At the moment I'll mostly be posting shorts, school assignments or challenge submissions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Very nice poetry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.