Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

I'm Weak

Uh Oh

By Mya DoerksenPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Like
I'm Weak
Photo by Rohit Tandon on Unsplash

He was a brilliant blue butterfly

Its wings fluttering in the gap between his eyelids and chest

Glistening strikes of aquamarine and turquoise sprouting from his wings

Flickers of antennae as he gazes upon the violet city called Midnight

The stench of the city causing the delicacy of them to wrinkle like they were wax in the sun

Their vibrancy like blue blossoms bearing fruit in spring

Gripping his hands on invisible bars as he travels down the side of the office building into the eerie rain-dropped streets below

“Oh dear Millie, how you betray my heart.” He recites.

Lilies overgrown on the roof of the building, growing steadily like a virus

The botany screaming at him to fly.

“I find your love so condescending, I was a fool to think such things”

Moss engraved on a headstone, a bouquet rolling rotten at the grave.

“When I think of you I hear the moist burning of cigarettes and the sound of smoke”

He breathed in the consistent ash of love.

Feeling his feet hover over the grey-stained snow,

while Doe-lights danced in the distance.

The suicidal joyful boy laughed and smiled.

“And what’s wrong with that?”

Light streaks of white blaze the taste buds of strawberries and whip cream.

And the warm cloud of red and orange when you ate your grandmother's muffins.

“You told me once that you couldn’t do anything but love me.”

Cracking of stone as it scales the building

The ticking clock of a grandfather passing time playing the accordion

The sound was as purple as a midwinter day.

“But I’m weak.”

“So once more, I will say adieu”

And as he looked out into the rising black sun, he felt his wings give in

The flutter in his eyes closing in on his lungs like a rush of flames,

for once he could feel himself breathe.

As the whole city lived, it would fall asleep as the light touched their desaturated roofs

and the boy fell back into his warm cocoon.

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNINGart
Like

About the Creator

Mya Doerksen

Hi there, I'm a student, a writer and an aspring author. At the moment I'll mostly be posting shorts, school assignments or challenge submissions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    “When I think of you I hear the moist burning of cigarettes and the sound of smoke” That's my favourite line! You have such a beautiful way with words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.