Poets logo

Loneliness

Who is that knocking on my door?

By Monica WrightPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Loneliness is a killer.

A killer that doesn’t secretly hide in the shadows but one that knocks on your door whenever you are home and then makes themselves comfortable when you unassumingly let them in.

They are the house guest that lingers and can’t take a hint. “I don’t want you to be here, please leave now” but Loneliness just sits there & asks for another cup of tea.

I don’t want to answer the door anymore so I ignore the knocking and the persistence. I’m able to put up a little Optimism over here and Hope over there. I put all this energy into making my home exactly how I want it to be. All this hard work is paying off and my home looks bright and strong until you hear the latches in the lock on the door release and that’s when you realize that Loneliness has a key.

All my hard work comes crashing down all around me as Loneliness asks me, “when was the last time you felt loved? Wanted? Needed?” The longer it stays the more damage it does to my home & I've worked so hard on building it. So many years of positive affirmations have created a strong foundation but the walls are slowly crumbling. I can’t let Loneliness win.

I hope one day it gets tired of trying to break me and realizes just how unwelcomed it is here in my home, so I can finally just be me.

art
Like

About the Creator

Monica Wright

Welcome to my mind of curiosity & wonder, where theres a little something for everybody- these are the things that keep me up at night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.