Poets logo

Loki`s Lament

A dogs wish

By Andy "Zordork" PricePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Daddy, don't get me wrong I love the hour we spend each evening walking the streets alone, just you and me.

But why when we meet other people, do we cross the road?

you use to stop and talk, you use to let them fuss me.

And Daddy, have the cascading waterfalls all dried up?

And has the sea left the beaches?

You know how I use to love jumping the waves.

And Daddy, I missed my paddle in the mountain stream,

And my swim in the deep blue lake.

I miss the tall pine forest,

And playing hide and seek between the trees.

I miss the Mountain wind in my fur,

And the views over the valleys that take my breath away.

I miss my bowl of water under the table,

Whilst you sit outside a country Pub,

Talking to a stranger about our adventures, whilst you drink your beer.

Daddy the snow came today,

And you didn`t take me to where it lay the deepest,

Like you always promised you would,

You just let me play in the garden,

In the sleet and slush.

Daddy, Why don't you take me on our day long hikes anymore,

Over the mountains and through the forests,

Down the valleys and past the waterfalls,

Along the banks of the streams,

And over the dunes until we meet the sea?

Daddy, Have I done something wrong?

Or don't you love me anymore?

.

.

.

Loki, be my big brave boy.

Daddy still loves you, and you`ve done nothing wrong.

I know you don't understand my furbaby,

But there is a nasty sickness, that could strike me down,

And take me from you.

The powers that be, think that it`s safer for us,

To walk around the streets, and past peoples front doors,

And dodge people who are walking around the same area with us.

They wont let me take you up to the mountains, where the air is fresh and clean,

And along the tracks and trails we know. Where we could walk all day and not pass another soul.

As soon as this is over, or I am aloud to take you to the wilderness again,

We will once more walk over the mountains, and ore at the cascading falls,

you will once again hide behind the trees and get to paddle in the streams and jump the waves.

I Long for that time too.

This I promise you, my best friend

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Andy "Zordork" Price

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.