Poets logo

Listening In the Rain

Life's Lessons

By Dan R FowlerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
23

Listening In the Rain

Perhaps you’ve walked in the rain at some time,

Standing long enough to wash off life’s grime.

Then all of a sudden there’s a downpour,

Washing out memories that have made our eyes sore.

The time for crying, facing life, and standing alone,

Took place in some city streets far from home.

Life’s moments each different for the chance-takers,

Often climax in sorrows of the decision-makers.

Some point their fingers at the adventurer who chose,

To surrender to life’s offerings bringing them too close.

Afraid of the consequences, the drama, the associated trauma,

The others would winch and smirk when listening to the saga.

Yet, it’s with absurdity the others walk with acclaim,

Lifting up their own opinions nothing extraordinary but plain.

Their lives and their journeys without splendor or lesson,

Have left them empty and inexperienced filled with aggression.

I listen in the rain to the words spoken to me,

Of my life, my hopes, and sometimes my misery.

But I wouldn’t change a thing that I’ve said or done,

To satisfy those wearing raincoats, those who wouldn’t dare come.

Drenched in the downpour of the torrents of life,

I’ve been stabbed to the bones by on-looker's knives.

It wasn’t their life nor their walk in the rain,

To this place of understanding, it was my choice that I came.

Without a cloak or coat or hat or garment at all,

I bathe in the plummeting rain praying it doesn’t stall.

For it’s in these moments I listen, soaked from head to toe,

The master points me in the direction that I should go.

By: Dan R. Fowler

For: Astrid

vintage
23

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. https://www.amazon.com/Verge-Dan-R-Fowler. Completed 41 novels since 2017. Screenplay being shopped by Voyage Media, LA, CA

.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Well deserve 👍🏽

  • Dan R Fowler (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you for reading my material. I appreciate you taking the time. Many thanks and happy reading.

  • S.R.Daleyabout a year ago

    Deep. Some people can use 1000 words to make you feel that kind of feeling, and it’s can do it with one sentence

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dan R Fowler (Author)about a year ago

    Thank you for your kind words. I attempt to invite my readers to live vicariously through my work. Thanks for reading my poem. Dan

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wonderful use of imagery. I felt like I was soaked to the bone by the end, and those last two lines were so impactful. Great work! You've got another subscriber :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.