Poets logo

Letters From Beyond

Always with you.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 7 months ago 1 min read
6
Created by J.Morton using DALL-E 3

But a babe you were when I first put a hand on you,

And I was but a child not knowing everything in front of me,

They don't give us a manual to guide us or know what things to do,

But somehow you managed to make a proud father of me.

I always knew you were a special one, my son,

And being part of your life has been both an up and down,

One thing none will ever be able to say is it wasn't fun,

Even when you resembled more than anything, a clown.

Consider me not gone,

For I'll always be around,

As I watch you continue the game of life, until you have won,

I won't be all that hard to find when I need to be found.

Look in on you, from time to time I will,

And marvel at all that you will see,

Touch your heart when life is like a poisoned pill,

Just know that lifting you up, that's where I'll be.

It's not the end of the road my son,

Just the end of that last chapter in this book,

And life, it may seem like so much is not done,

But regret not, and remember every chance I took.

I'm here my boy, whether you see me or not,

That promise was until the end,

Of that, I have not forgot,

And always know that you were more than a son, my friend.

Cry not for me,

For I am at peace,

And the rest of your story I will certainly see,

Just know that I am at ease.

Watch over the ones that I would have kept an eye on,

And do the things that I did for you,

I'm proud of the man that you've shown yourself to be before I'm gone,

And I know that you'll be better than I ever could, too.

Don't forget the lessons learned so hard,

And hold those dear ones tightly,

Teach the little one when playing in the yard,

Tell him Grandpa will look in on him nightly.

inspirationalsad poetryperformance poetry
6

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    Lovely.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful piece.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    What a beautiful letter to your son, full of love ❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Some beautiful words right here - great piece, Jason.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Tender and heartbreaking!!! Left some love!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.