Poets logo

Ask Your Mama!

For "Ask me in December," Babs' Unofficial Challenge

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 19 days ago Updated 17 days ago 1 min read
5
Ask Your Mama!
Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

Ask me: “In December

when the roses are asleep,

and the weeping willow’s branches drip with diamonds when she weeps,

and packages are bursting with the secrets that they keep –

Will you love me still?

Then I’ll answer: Yes, I will!

~

Ask me: “When March comes

and the daffodils awake,

and you wear your favorite sweater one last day for old times’ sake,

and there are eggs to color, and longish walks to take --

Is that when you'll be mine?”

And I’ll answer: All the time!

~

Ask me, child: “In June,

as we breathe the lilac air,

and sip our lemonade as if we didn’t have a care,

and wiggle our bare toesies -- tell me then, if you dare:

Do you adore me?"

Yes, of course, my darling! I'll declare.

~

Ask me: "This September,

when the dahlias drink the dew,

and mornings put you in the mood to bake a pie or two,

and every time the school bus comes you get a little blue ...

will you miss me every day?"

Every minute! I will say.

~

If you ever start to question

if I love you -- if I care --

look in my eyes, my dearest child.

You'll find the answer there.

-- // --

Written for Babs' unofficial challenge, in celebration of her third Vocanniversary! I couldn't pass up this opportunity to offer Babs a tribute. She was the FIRST one to post a comment on my first poem for Vocal. That simple "Fabulous!" sent me to the moon, and I am still grateful. As I am for every encouraging comment since. Cheers to a fabulous cheerleader and writer - Babs!

Here's Bab's challenge post:

love poemsFamily
5

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins10 days ago

    Awesome work, Sonia!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 days ago

    Gorgeous work!!

  • A brilliant work.

  • Awww, this was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson19 days ago

    Awwww!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️ Appreciate and love the sweet tribute!!!

  • Fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.