Poets logo

Lego My Leggings

A poem clapping back on social media's thigh gap appeal

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
24
Leggings are for all women-image by Canva

Social media, a TikTok obsession

unsound influence

meets mass appeal

female faction, one girl’s confession

markets beauty

to a size ideal

fashion, leggings to include jeggings

convenient, comfy

smooth, soft, space-saving

attracts girls, young and old

prints, pastels, bold and plain

black is a favorite, worth all the raving

yet, the perfect wearer

worth eye staring

has a gap between her thighs

in other words, standing upright

with feet together, a space up top

equals perfection — a dumb surmise

...

Ergo ego and stupid standards

continue to dictate a female’s worth

women, teens, and even tweens

absorb the crap the web puts forth

clap clap clap —

I am clapping back

silence is not the voice I claim

body image, beauty, attraction

at any cost — is not my game

self-esteem sewn in stitchings

fabrics, get-ups, TikTok setups

marketed on a worldwide screen

fragile-minded, often blinded

susceptible to practices

most times unclean

healthy one

comes undone

diet, try it, but keep it quiet

mental anguish for the perfect size

leaps and bounds

heaps of lies

I despise —

despise convictions most untrue

...

You —

are enough just as you are

beautiful

blessed

unique

wear what you will

what you want

size two to twenty-two

who cares

slim, trim, thicker, bigger

let not social media

influence self-worth

shame you

trigger

breakdown, meltdown

prompt unwise tactics

all to achieve the “perfect size”

My poem reflects on the recent TikTok craze about legging legs and the thigh gap, a ridiculous notion that having one is desirable and worthy of only people with a particular body type.

The thigh gap phenomenon received a media craze in 2012 after a Victoria's Secret Fashion Show, that featured models with noticeable thigh gaps. Social Media picked up the images and widespread thinspiration blogs followed.

Much like other fads, legging legs are potentially harmful to women and young girls promoting the ideology that beauty equals particular denominators. Influencers, often idolized by the attention they receive provide a false concept of attractiveness which negatively impacts impressionable viewers leading to depression, eating disorders, self-harm, and exaggerated tactics to fit in or comply with a particular standard.

I am five foot one and weigh 124 and I do NOT have a thigh gap. I have muscular legs from years of sports, including my time as a dancer (an exotic one), and do not give a diddly doo about not having one.

At 52 years young, I’ve also had weight issues much of my life being underweight. I cannot tell you how many times people teased me, belittled me, or tried to feed me. Since 2020, I have sustained a healthy weight after the removal of a rare benign tumor which likely was related to a decades-long struggle.

I do not use TikTok but have daughters who do. I do not support these types of fads or harmful crazes to our women and daughters, their bodies, and their mental health.

Reports state that “Leggings Legs,” is banned now on TikTok replaced with a link to eating disorders.

My best advice: if you like leggings then wear them. In my thirties, a woman once told me that anyone after twenty-nine should not wear them. I replied, “Leggo my leggings.”

Clapping back for all tweens, teens, and women because I have no problem digging through the trash so we can sort it out together!

So, get a leg up, girl, and say it with me: “Leggo my leggings.”

...

Originally published on 2/02/2024 in New Writers Welcome, a publication I edit for on Medium.

Mental Healthsocial commentaryinspirationalFree Verse
24

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Victor Mendez3 months ago

    I like your poem. I don't love it-I like it. I felt your rhythm, your pulse on a topic near and dear and truthful. In Korean tv when you "like" someone, you are confessing your feelings for them and in essence asking them to accept your feelings and date them. If your poem was a person, I would confess my feelings to them, that's how much I liked it. Thank you, cuz I was becoming disenchanted with some of the other poetry I was reading. I most times end my poetry and writings with "peace".

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Great wordplay. Congrats on top story.

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Body image is something that I'm told is critically important. Personally, I've never had a healthy one so I can't judge. But I hate when people, especially the young and impressionable, are force-fed these ideas about what the perfect body looks like. The perfect body is a combination of the one that is healthy for your uniqueness and the one that is uniquely yours. No one should ever be made to feel lesser because of something that is ultimately beyond their control. For my part, I work to make certain I can find something to compliment in every person I meet. It's not even difficult, just pick a thing you like about how someone looks and boom, you can totally make their day. The number of times I've seen, especially on a young person, a face light up like I had flicked a switch with a simple and honest "I like x thing about you" is incredible. This is a very powerful poem, thank you so much for sharing it with us :)

  • Thank you for this! I have struggled with loving my body since I was about ten years old (though I have been in a pretty good place recently) and people voicing their expectations didn't help. We need more positive messages like your poem!

  • I remember being 14 in 2012 and not understanding what the hell was up with thigh gaps. Body expectations are ridiculous. Thanks for writing on it!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Love the polemic here, Marilyn. Ah, fashion. I'm going to wear leggings. I'm also going to wear my hair long if I want. I might even wear a crop top if I feel like it. I've got chunky thighs too but I reserve the right to wear what I want on them and for them to meet all the way down. Thigh gap. Aren't there better things for women to aspire to?

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Yesssss! This is such an awesome poem and so needed. I remember growing up on Tumblr back in the day when the thigh gap was first in its heyday. I hate seeing it all make a comeback. 😢 Sending big love to you and your daughters. 💗 Thank you for writing this piece! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Such a powerful message, and your words carry it so well! A fantastic read.

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Marilyn, this speaks to so many. Thank you. And congrats on top story!

  • Scott Christenson3 months ago

    Fashion is always ridiculous. To think that women had to wear giant dresses with metal skeletons to give pretty much the opposite of "thigh gap" in the 1800s? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crinoline

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this powerful and beautifully worded rebuke of such a damaging trend. My sister has shared with me a number of her image struggles over the years, and it breaks my heart to know how social media trends like this can poison her self-image as well as those of so many women and girls.

  • Ali SP3 months ago

    Hey Marilyn. I am glad to read your work. Thank you for bringing this issue up and encouraging self love when it comes to appreciating your body at any size.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.