Poets logo

Hate To Highpoint (Zenith)

Abecedarian poem

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Sakura blossoms blooming under a dark zenith garden-Illustration 301788384 © Antoinepham2903 | Dreamstime.com

All I do is think about you, you and me, how we used to be

Be strong I tell myself, yet self-talk brings me little comfort

Comforting, how comforting knowing you chose my ride or die

Dying, I am dying right now and nothing is everything

Everything, you two were my life but life slapped me in the face

Face slap, turn the other cheek, go on ahead with that girl

Girl, I was your girl; "Girl, please," I grit my teeth when I see her

Her place in my heart, best pal, was anyway, until indiscretion

Indiscretion, the unsweet of discretion, secrets sipped unlike juice

Juicy details, I need not know; dry, the texture of a lying lip's kiss

Kiss me goodbye, not literally, so long, we are not living in limbo

Limbo, limber, I am not that flexible, tight, I am, my mind-is-made

Made up, I wish, but I could never make up such nonsense

No sense in kidding myself, grown-up me sees ahead no oasis

Oasis, green patches, other places; the grass is greener preferences

Preference meets indifference, yes, but I walk away quietly

Quietly, no door slamming, no shouting, just my no-tolerance reflex

Reflex reflects, deep reflection; heavy-hearted handled with strength

Strength, strength feels weak, weak from illness, illness times two

Two, I hope the two of you get all you deserve, faithfully united

United, where does that leave me; sad, alone, and vulnerable

Vulnerable, not so much, venom in my veins keeps me wise

Wiser than yesterday; fool me again equals an unwise Xerox

Xerox, she will become a carbon copy of me; highlight: mind yoga

Yoga, but it isn't a stretch, it's beyond, I'm moving to the Zenith

Zenith calls, telling me to forget you; forgotten, I never knew you at all

Mental Healthheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Outstanding!

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Breath taking.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    So much word play, and it flows beautifully line to line. Love how you also took the last word from the previous line and carried it over. It works 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.