Poets logo

Lavender Blue

who are you?

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Lavender Blue

Little girl dreams of lace and umbrellas

Looking for happies in the best of the fellows

Seashells and waves of greens, blues, and foam

Wishing and believing in hearts that come home

Schoolbooks and pencils, red, white, and black

Be careful on sidewalks and avoid every crack

Browns and tans and red plaids of tartan

Hair up in buns and fearless as spartan

Bright oranges, lime greens, and magentas galore

Swirled in the sixties with protests of war

Baby blues and diapers make up her life

Along with illusions of a happy life

Yet she goes on and dresses in denim

Avoiding the truth and all of the venom

Staunch pressed uniform all in white

She'll change the world and give it a fight

Now she lives in greys and rain

Fighting old age with all of its pain

She longs for the child in the lavender blue

She sings dilly-dilly because this one's for you.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Ms. Shirley; aka R.N. - I'm so glad that I've discovered your interesting 'Original' articles among all of the "Creative" New-Ways-to-Write Writer's among us. *I've subscribed to you with pleasure to see what you have next for us. As I scroll through your presentations I see you've been publishing for a long time. There is a lot of plagiarism going on so please look back to see if this has happened to yours. My 'Wheelchair Etiquette' was copied (of all things) among several of my other stories. But, our Senior VM mate, Judey, got him butted out. I'm just a retired legal writer morphed into a VM "Goof Writer' nothing more. But, it's so meaningful to interact with fellow Seniors. Who better than former classroom 'note-passers' to interact with one another. Ok, I'm stalling: Shirley, often our stories bring on special memories of our own; I'm certain you can relate to that. This one of yours certainly did. As I danced to 'Lavender Blue' (Bobby Vinton) while singing off-key in my girlfriend's ear, in our school gym at our prom, it never occurred to me that we were invulnerable. My wife was an RN and I often told her I could never have the patience with her patients as I'm certain you can relate to. Hundreds of her patients (she was in Dialysis and got to know them as family) came to her funeral out of respect; I was so proud of that. - Ok, so-so sorry to ramble - Thank you so much for the Dilly-Dilly-Ditty - My Pleasure to virtually meet you Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.