Poets logo

To My Son

Wherever You Are

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 years ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
The Cycle of Addiction

I hate your addiction and I don't want to lose you

Why is it so hard for you to just stop this madness?

Why don't you want to have real joy in life?

Why do you settle for the lies and the escape?

I live in fear of your death twenty-four hours a day

I don't enjoy meals or everyday activities

I beg for sleep to forget our pain and grumble when I wake up

I go through the motions for the others you left behind

I am in this addiction, too and I did not choose this drug

It pisses me off because this is where we are

It's where your choices put us

But you blame me

I buy into that at times and that pisses me off more

I feel guilty because you are the one who is sick

But I am sick too

And so are the other people that love you

We have separated the you not on drugs from the you who is

But it's getting hard to tell

The lies and manipulation and the whole damn cycle

Are getting old

Yet I love you

Yet they love you

Yet we all love you

Why don't you love you???

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    So beautifully written Shirley... so heart breaking for you... A brilliant quote/image. I pray for strength for your son & you all.

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Shirley - With (3) years past I'm afraid to ask about your son - I Care - This is SO powerful and every word so incredibly well said. Please update this and post it again. With the current 'Fentanyl' crisis you will get so much 'Love' from our village community by doing so. J-bud

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.