Poets logo

Last Time

Promising Esmerelda

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Last Time
Photo by Inge Poelman on Unsplash

I sit on our grey couch

with its torn cover

and worn strands that once held together

and listen

for your truck’s snarling engine

to announce your late arrival

and I panic for a second

thinking Stony

won’t steer clear

of your balding right front tire

and will disappear

a mangled clump

of chain and brown-black fur

coughing blood

beneath swirls of red clay

dust and gravel

until

I hear him

growling

his low bark

from the doghouse

and recall

just how old the mutt’s become

and start the slow pained stand up

to meet you

at the back door,

like you tell me,

and I run

a calloused finger

across the rusty latch

and amuse myself

with thinking

that this time

I might just leave

it locked,

but then

you’d force your way in,

and you’d pull out

your

big guns

how you love

how much you hate

when I resist

so

I slouch

inside

this simple dress

and wish

my smile

was a bit

less practiced

like the grimace

smugly leering

from behind your bloodshot eyes

and you come

nearer

as that blasted

telephone erupts

disrupting

the fragile stand-off

screaming like

a newborn

and I speak

into the phone

with that voice

the Reverend uses

as if lambs could ever think that wolves are harmless

and I cup my fingers

over the receiver

so the caller

cannot hear

that your fingers

are now probing

Thursday’s panties

and I'm promising Esmeralda

I’ll come

to Ice Cream Social

and am quick

to hang the phone up

before

your patience

find its end

***

Copyright © 02/16/1999 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

social commentary

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

JUN | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY

APR | APR | MAR | MAR | MAR

FEB | JUN

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity | Strangely Art

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test4 months ago

    Fantastic work, Christy. So creative. Loved it.

Christy MunsonWritten by Christy Munson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.