Poets logo

Kindness

Poem

By LilyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Kindness
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

You’re in love with an act

An act of my kindness

Taken the wrong way

Taken far on the highway

You’re so far ahead of me ‘

I can barely catch up

I want to grab you

And pull you, force you to stop

As I anxiously run I try to decipher

At what moment I said what I’m after

Pretty sure I was careful

I was careful this time

Is being friendly a crime?

Did I stare into your eyes a little too long?

Did I laugh too hard at your attempt at a joke?

Did I touch you in some way that altered your state?

All I know is that now, it’s too late

My act of kindness once again failed

True friendship has sailed

I see now in front of me a man who adores

A girl who doesn’t live here anymore

As I slowly phase out of his life and mine

I am reminded that once was enough

I quickly build my wall again and promise to be rude

This way there is no mix up, no hurt and no blues

love poemsFriendshipFor Fun
1

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butlerabout 16 hours ago

    Human connection trips that oxytocin/dopamine/adrenaline/endorphin cocktail, and for a lot of people, a missed connection, a miscommunication, the tantalizing promise of a union that never materializes... we can feel like hungry orphans on a dirty street staring through a window at people gorging themselves at a posh buffet. It's why public displays of affection can sometimes nauseate uninvolved onlookers, eh? You do a good job of exemplifying this inner conflict here. We don't want to hurt others. We don't want to be hurt. Perfectly understandable! Well-wrought! Write on!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.