Poets logo

Gray

Poem

By LilyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Gray
Photo by Yusuf Evli on Unsplash

My eyes see colors but not the same

The colors are dimmed, muted and gray

I ask myself if the colors are still the same

If maybe changing the shades is all in my head

Why do I have memories

Of bright colors when I was young?

Why did 10 years ago seem to be

A completely different shade of life?

I wonder if I put on some glasses

Glasses that cover up life

I can’t seem to see the same

As I used to once upon a time

Perhaps I am forcing my eyes to see what I want

Perhaps I see with a wounded heart

What if the colors are still there?

What if I’m keeping them from myself?

To realize it has been me who’s holding back

To realize it has been me choosing the dark

Can I somehow change it back?

How does one go about it, how does one see the light?

I guess the only thing to do

Is to choose to see as I used to do

Find that old switch and flip it on

Perhaps then I will see the light

Mental Healthsad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lily

Writer, Teacher Assistant, creator and believer in the law of attraction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manikandan Blog Writer4 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.